Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Search engine

  1. #1
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064

    Search engine

    I have installed these reg tweaks to get google to be my default search engine..

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
    "Search Page"="http://www.google.com"
    "Search Bar"="http://www.google.com/ie"
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL]
    ""="http://www.google.com/keyword/%s"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search]
    "SearchAssistant"="http://www.google.com/ie"


    When I do a search from the address line in IE I still get MSN search, so what else do I need to change to make google come up instead?


  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    From what I know that REG tweak will only work for clicking the Search button on your browser which will take you to Google. Typing directly in the Browser Address button will not be affected by it.

  3. #3
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Well even the search button still gives me MSN... I may find some bad links down the road....

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Really? Did you re-start your computer after applying those REG tweaks?

  5. #5
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Tinker,go to this key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search

    and delete the following if they are there.(backup first)

    "CustomizeSearch"="http://ie.search.msn.com/{SUB_RFC1766}/srchasst/srchcust.htm"

    "SearchAssistant"="http://ie.search.msn.com/{SUB_RFC1766}/srchasst/srchasst.htm"

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  6. #6
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Conan, I have rebooted 3 times and no change in the search.

    Reverend, I deleted what you suggested and no change in the search. However the changes that I have made in the Reg. still hold true....

    This is a weird one eh?

  7. #7
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    I found this explanation.
    To change the address bar search engine try this;

    Open the Search Companion
    Change to Classic Internet Search
    Close and reopen the browser
    Open the Search Companion/Search Pane again
    Select the Customize option
    On the new window that appears, select Autosearch settings
    On the new window that appears, select the search provider you want and how you want IE to act when you search in the address bar
    Back on the main Customize Search Settings window, if you want to go back to the Search Companion functionality, choose the "Use Search Companion" option. Otherwise, you'll stay with Classic Internet Search/The Search Pane

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #8
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Or just select Google........
    Last edited by Tinker; February 21st, 2009 at 10:56 AM.

  9. #9
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Originally posted by Tinker
    Or just select Google........
    Hey Tinker,you knew the answer all along.You was just testing our knowledge.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  10. #10
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Well no, I just stumbled across it while following your lead...
    I do now have now have Google in Classic search as well but still MSN in Address line........

  11. #11
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Update on my progress. I still do not get Google from the Address line. I have changed the registry in many places and no luck, I still get MSN search from there. I do now however get Google from the Home button in the tool bar and from the Search button in the tool bar. This gives me what I wanted, Google search from anywhere (except the Address line). I got hooked on Google from using it here on this forum... Any way thanks for the help and I will let you all know if I figure out how to get it from the Address line........

  12. #12
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    Tinker why dont you just add the download the google toolbar, if you want to use an alternative search engine. Its free and easily installed, saves you from having to stuff around with your IE reg files.

    Sreenshot:

    Download:
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  13. #13
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Thanks zErO, I looked at that option but decided that I did not want another tool bar to take up more of my screen. Just a matter of personal choice......

  14. #14
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    I personally have Google programmed on my Keyboard to launch with one button. Maybe that's what you should get next Tinker, an Internet Keyboard.

  15. #15
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    That is an idea, which one do you have Conan?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •