Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Access Denied

  1. #1
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    182

    Access Denied

    Hi, got a small problem with a couple of folders that ive just backed up. Copied them across to another location reinstalled windows xp sp1 an have now got access denied error.
    Live long and prosper!

  2. #2
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    182

    Doh!

    I think i must have done something terribly wrong last night when re-installing. I now have 2 boot options and one of them is now my downloads drive of which had 30gb and now its all gone
    But anywho, anyone got any idead about the above? It the folders had no password protect btw.
    Live long and prosper!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Did you by chance encrypt them?

  4. #4
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    182
    nope, just copied :-\
    Live long and prosper!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Did you by chance try to recopy them? Could be the first go around created a corrupted copy of the contents you copied over? That is if you backed it up to media.

  6. #6
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    go into the security and take ownership of the files should work if you log in as admin.



  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    You may need to take ownership of the file or directory to gain access to the files,
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...308421&sd=tech

    As far as the boot problem, it sounds like you formatted the second hard drive and installed xp on it. Since xp takes around 2-4 gigs I recommend that you disconnect the second drive (one with 30 gigs missing)
    Now do whatever you can to get xp running on your master drive. now hook up the slave drive and be sure to boot to the master xp. now get a disaster recover kit.

    I recommend "GetDataBack - NTFS
    http://www.runtime.org/gdb.htm

    it will scan the second drive and show you the files it can recover for you.

    Save these files to the master hard drive so you do not write over the data on the second drive.

    Good luck!
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Yep ownership issue like Phish and Egg suggest...

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  9. #9
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    182
    Still same problem. There's no sid's @ all in the security :-S
    My FDC is a little duff, keep getting error, need new motherboard really. :-\
    Live long and prosper!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Can you post an image of the error? That may help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •