Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New Router

  1. #1
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229

    New Router

    I finally replaced my Linksys BEFSR41 router because it kept on "forgetting" its settings and if I'm not home my father is not advanced enough to reconfigure the settings in order to connect to the internet.

    I bought a D-Link DI 604 router (US $ 46) and its got more feature than the Linksys:



    http://www.dlink.co.uk/?go=jN7uAYLx/...vk2aXgLUsRs+0=

    I also now come up with a complete stealth rating at Shields Up which was previously not possible with the Linksys router. I hope this unit will always "remember" its settings.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Nice piece of hardware. And a damn fine price. Router prices have dropped dramatically in the matter of a few years.. I paid over $400 for my IODATA wireless router 4 years ago...

    Was the setup easier on the DLink compared to the Linksys?

  3. #3
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    Nice piece of hardware. And a damn fine price. Router prices have dropped dramatically in the matter of a few years.. I paid over $400 for my IODATA wireless router 4 years ago...

    Was the setup easier on the DLink compared to the Linksys?
    Their web set-up seems more user friendly than the Linksys. You can activate the Setup Wizard from the browser. A bit more security features too. While I was in the PC shop I noticed that LCD's have also dropped in price, 17 inch LCD's are quite affordable now!

  4. #4
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,050
    Conan: Does D-Link have open source GPL code for firmware like Linksys? I use a "hacked" version of their firmware for my Linksys WRT54G. I'm actually able to boost the power as well as run a small Linux server within it.

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  5. #5
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by petard
    Conan: Does D-Link have open source GPL code for firmware like Linksys? I use a "hacked" version of their firmware for my Linksys WRT54G. I'm actually able to boost the power as well as run a small Linux server within it.
    Sorry I don't about that.

  6. #6
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    hey conan I hope mine was just a bad one but thats the same model that I had. finally had to do a shadow and burn it in the fire pit.



  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    i'vw had the d-link for like a year ot two. I do recall members bashing the heck out of it yet I always thought it was fine.

    I also have the Linksys WRT54G and it is just the same as the d-link or slightly better in terms of wired connections. Linksys WRT54G is also wireless so i use it as an access point for the other connection. Linksys WRT54G version 1 cannot take the linux hacked code but Linksys WRT54G v1.1 and up have more memory space to host the hacked version and it turns the Linksys WRT54G into a high priced kinda of model with tons of high priced features.

    http://www.batbox.org/wrt54g-linux.html

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/wifi-box/

    http://www.sveasoft.com

    Feature Addtions

    Client/Bridge mode for multiple clients
    Adhoc mode
    WDS/Repeater mode
    WPA over WDS links
    Web based wireless statistics
    SNMP
    Remote NTOP statistics
    Captive portal
    Extensive firewall enhancements
    - track/block P2P, VoIP, IM, many other services by protocol
    - 99% of available iptables filters included
    VPN client and server (PPTP in all versions, IPsec as a compile-time option)
    DHCP static IP assignment to specific MAC addresses
    Wake-On-LAN functions with scheduling
    OSPF routing
    OSPF load balancing
    Multi-level bandwidth management (Premium, Express, Standard, Bulk)
    - manage P2P, VoIP, IM connections
    - also by ports, IP addresses, and/or MAC addresses
    Hardware QoS for the 4 LAN ports
    Power boost to 251 mw
    Afterburner Support (GS models)
    SSH server and client
    Telnet
    Startup, firewall, and shutdown scripts
    Safe backup and restore
    VLAN support
    Clone Wireless MAC
    Reset router on upgrade

    External Program Support

    Wallwatcher
    Firewall Builder
    MRTG
    Cactus
    PRTG
    Ntop
    Last edited by egghead; May 15th, 2005 at 18:59 PM.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    hey conan I hope mine was just a bad one but thats the same model that I had. finally had to do a shadow and burn it in the fire pit.
    My router is a European model (from checking the harware build and firmware) and the firmware that came shipped with it is the latest one (January 2, 2005). So here's hoping that it will last.

  9. #9
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,101
    I have the 614+ model and was having trouble until I flashed in the newest firmware.No bad trouble since.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •