Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: create program alias

  1. #1
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702

    create program alias

    How do you create an alias to type into the run box? Example: ma.exe instead of C:\program files\myapp\myappexe.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    You need to edit the registry and create a new string and sub key for the program.

    You might find this article helpful

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    The last refinement of my googling produced an article at winguides.com. Thanks, rev

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  4. #4
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    thats a good idea Piaqt... so does it come down to editing the registry?? any quick way?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  5. #5
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    Thank you, yes, and no.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  6. #6
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    There is a very simple way. No need to hack the registry

    Just create a shortcut to the app and place the shortcut in the Windows folder.

  7. #7
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    Can you append switches to the path?

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  8. #8
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by piaqt
    Can you append switches to the path?
    I think so, though I'm not sure. It's quick, so try it and see

  9. #9
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by piaqt
    Can you append switches to the path?
    I've checked and it worked, piaqt. BTW, when you use this method, you don't need to type ".exe" - only the shortcut's name. See, I've also saved you four keystrokes

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •