Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Internet Blocking

  1. #1
    Junior Member sirjavabean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    40

    Internet Blocking

    I need some way of blocking access to the internet, but not the LAN, from two of the three computers on my network. Preferably the connections should be password protected and they need to be able to run on a 98SE with 16MB ( ) of ram
    The King of all things that aren't to do with Java...

    Go Linux!

    You run linux, you crash windows!

    My Legend of the Green Dragon Server!
    sirjavabean.hyspex.com/lotgd

  2. #2
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,054
    Block access at the Router, uninstall IE or what ever browser is being used. How do you have the LAN set up?

  3. #3
    Junior Member sirjavabean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    40
    i want to be able to block access to individual computers some of the time, so uninstalling ie wouldn't work. i found a program called browse control, but the trial runs out in 30 days. ireally wanted something free
    The King of all things that aren't to do with Java...

    Go Linux!

    You run linux, you crash windows!

    My Legend of the Green Dragon Server!
    sirjavabean.hyspex.com/lotgd

  4. #4
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    perhaps a linux based proxy?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  5. #5
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Thru the router, assuming that you are using one. My Belkin allows you to allow access by MAC address and to be able to block any computer at multiple times during the day.

  6. #6
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by rik
    Thru the router, assuming that you are using one. My Belkin allows you to allow access by MAC address and to be able to block any computer at multiple times during the day.
    wow, thats a great feature!

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Belkin model#F5D7230-4

  8. #8
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    Lots of routers include that kind of functionality, my Netgear Prosafe does it so does my Firebox. It is normally a bit obtuse in that the settings for it are in 2 places - you make access rules under the firewall section then apply it to a schedule. The schedule section is seperate. For a free solution you can use SME Server with a few modifications to squid and squidguard - but of course you need a spare PC to implement the proxy on.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •