Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: dialup security

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415

    dialup security

    ..

    Err. nevermind all that. What do you think about software firewalls on dialup?

    Here's his cool desktop!

    Last edited by lynchknot; May 25th, 2005 at 22:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Looks pretty rice there Uncle Ben...

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415
    Ben wa...? what?

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Whatever the connection, a software firewall is needed.

  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415
    Well the damn Outpost firewall decided not to prompt for permission - only to let me know an app attempted connection and I haven't been able to figure out why. Ihave it set on rules wizard. It should be prompting me for rules. If I can't figure this out, how's my nephew going to. My computer is fine. I've never seen this before.


  6. #6
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Use Kerio 2.1.5 with BlitzenZeus default rule set.

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Use Kerio 2.1.5 with BlitzenZeus default rule set.
    He won't have to mess with anything with kerio?

  8. #8
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    nope, just the usual 'click yes or no' to what ever you want leaving the PC. You can do most of that before you send it.

    Kerio is fast & light and very secure for dial-up...even high speed net

  9. #9
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    Whatever the connection, a software firewall is needed.
    I totally agree. I'm on dial-up, yet ZA Pro tells me it has blocked 24,000 intrusions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •