Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: OE won't start

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415

    OE won't start

    Hello. OE won't start for me. I see it appear in TM for a split second then disappear - anyone have a clue as to what is happening? I can start Outlook though - but I never use it.

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Works for me

  3. #3
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    hi

    can you back up your oe files and move them? see if it loads

    might be a corrupt database

    if you get the same problem you should re-install it and migrate the files
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  4. #4
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415
    rik, ima gonna kick 'yer pooptang (culo) fer dat.

    I copied and pasted onto my desktop and it still won't open. How do you reinstall? run scannow?
    Last edited by lynchknot; June 2nd, 2005 at 01:55 AM.

  5. #5
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Bring it

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415

    Last edited by lynchknot; June 2nd, 2005 at 03:13 AM.

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415


    Never, ever bring a bat to a missle fight
    Last edited by lynchknot; June 2nd, 2005 at 03:19 AM.

  8. #8
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Kids!!!........lmao

  9. #9
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    684
    Quote Originally Posted by rik
    Works for me


    I think OE can be reinstalled from CP -> Add/Remove Progs -> Windows Components

    Or maybe if you hve IE SP1 then you can install the Outlook Express 6 SP1 Cumulative Update KB887797 (Dec 2004) ++ Link ++ or something like that

  10. #10
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415
    I unchecked it in add/remove ran the cd - then checked it and ran cd. It still does not work

    scannow will not run as well
    Last edited by lynchknot; June 2nd, 2005 at 19:11 PM.

  11. #11
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    Sounds like a good time to try out Thunderbird.

    If you are trying to run the System File Checker the command is

    SFC /scannow

    When you try and run OE and the banner flashes up do you see OE under the process list in Task Manager (msimn.exe) - if you do, how many times can you see it (click on the column heading 'image name' to sort the entries by name.

    If you start the computer in Safe Mode does OE run correctly.

    To start the computer in safe mode keep tapping the F5 key when the machine is turned on and the BIOS check is finished to when windows starts.
    Last edited by Curio; June 5th, 2005 at 07:36 AM.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •