Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: multiple Internet configs in XP Pro

  1. #1
    Junior Member lovewindoze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3

    multiple Internet configs in XP Pro

    I just got my first computer with XP on it.
    I've been searching the 'net and reading up on issues.

    One thing I haven't found out is a way to save multiple Internet Configurations. At home I have a different router address than at work and I'm tired of manually redoing these all the time.

    I'm sure there's a way to save and switch back and forth but I haven't seen any info on it.

    Can anyone help? or direct me to info on the subject?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Simply make two internet connections, one for home and one for work. You have to manually configure it, and after that it should be saved. Then all you need to do is tell your PC which connection you are using at a given time.


    BB
    Last edited by Big Booger; July 31st, 2002 at 23:19 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member lovewindoze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3
    I know how to manually configure each connection.
    What I don't know is "Simply make two internet connections"
    can you be more specific?

  4. #4
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Go to Control Panel, User Accounts. Set up a second account with admin status. Use one for home and the other for work.

    I hope this helps and welcome to the forum....

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Turn on your PC,
    click on start, click on control panel, click on network and internet connections, first connect to your home network. Then click on create a connection to the network at your workplace. This should give you the second setting that allows you to connect to your two internet connections.
    BB

  6. #6
    Junior Member lovewindoze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3
    I was rummaging around MS's website last evening and found this article.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p...autoconfig.asp

    This 'seems' to be working for me - at home using my cable modem through a router and at work on a LAN.
    But I'm not sure it would work in every instance.
    I would guess if this ever did not work for me, I'd go with your suggestion of creating 2 admin's with different Network configs.
    thanks for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •