Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Avast Causing Havoc with Zone Alarm

  1. #1
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229

    Avast Causing Havoc with Zone Alarm

    The last Avast update is causing havoc with Zone Alarm Pro! The firewall eats up so much CPU and most programs, even Task Manager wouldn't run. I have since uninstalled Zone Alarm until I find a suitable firewall.

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    I don't see any reports on Avast! & ZA, I have seen reports on ZA going bonkers by its self, uninstall/reinstall fixed it.

    Why not try Kerio 2.1.5 with either the BZ Standard or Advanced rules

    If anything on ZA comes up I'll let you know
    Last edited by FastGame; June 28th, 2005 at 17:14 PM.

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,415
    I'm an Outpost/BlackIce/NOD man myself.

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    I don't see any reports on Avast! & ZA, I have seen reports on ZA going bonkers by its self, uninstall/reinstall fixed it.

    Why not try Kerio 2.1.5 with either the BZ Standard or Advanced rules

    If anything on ZA comes up I'll let you know
    I tried uninstall/install no improvement. Restored an older image of my hard drive but once Avast updated itself, the problems began again!

    I might give Sygate a go again.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    The last Avast update is causing havoc with Zone Alarm Pro! The firewall eats up so much CPU and most programs, even Task Manager wouldn't run. I have since uninstalled Zone Alarm until I find a suitable firewall.
    Have you tried sygate?....worked well for me.

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    I have had to uninstall/re-install Avast quite a few times lately it seems like their update method has some issues, most often affected is email and people phone me up to say all of a sudden their email no worky. That's a bit of a pain as we all like things that just work and I have now started telling them to switch to AVG free which is similar in detection ability but seems pretty solid in the 'just works' department.

    Etrust EZ-Antivirus is also available on a 'free' and is nice for real technophobic types as it doesn't need any looking at in any way and it is quite pretty.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Well I went back to using the free version of Sygate and all is well once more. I also downloaded the latest Avast and reinstalled that too just to make sure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •