Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Database Backup using phpMyAdmin

  1. #1
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961

    Database Backup using phpMyAdmin

    All these options are confusing me. Does anyone here know which ones should be checked and which ones not?

    I don't know if this is relevant, but the database is for a phpBB forum.


  2. #2
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    Look under each section for the bits you desire and consider the state the database will be in if you have to re-install from scratch. You will be starting from a 'empty' MySQL database but the structure is created by the phpBB install. It is a VERY GOOD idea to export the dump and try installing a new server and importing it - just to be sure.

    I would go for
    EXPORT - SQL
    STRUCTURE - add IF NOT EXISTS, enclose TABLE and FIELD names in backquotes
    DATA - EXPORT type INSERT
    SAVE AS FILE - you can save a backup to the server but you can save it to your local machine by unchecking the box and it will pop up a download dialog.

    Like I said checking you can import to a clean install is a very good idea, too late to find a problem if you don't do it til you 'HAVE' to do it.

    If you can connect via a port 3306 connection a program like mysqlfront will also do it for you.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  3. #3
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Thanks for the advice It is a very good idea to verify a backup whatever it is for. But do you know how I can test it? Are there free hosts that have PHP and MySQL? Or can I do it on my own host? Hope I'm not making myself sound like a n00b, but I don't know much about these things.

  4. #4
    Banned adeydas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Some parallel universe
    Posts
    109
    You can try restoring it to a test forum software with a test database on your server. just install it into someplace where your visitors won't be able to access it.

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    I don't think mine allows more than one database

  6. #6
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    You can get it all on your own PC - oh yes.

    For windows 9x-Me (if that's what you use) you can use EasyPHP download from http://www.easyphp.org/ it's very lovely and will install and configure Apache/PHP/MySQL for you in a few clicks - including phpMyAdmin etc...

    If you got a NT OS (NT/W2k/XP) then the WAMP package does the same for you get it over at http://www.wampserver.com/en/index.php

    You can set it up so it only runs when you start it rather than running as a service if you only want it for testing purposes or as a service if you want to run a webserver on your PC (not recommended).
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Thanks, Curio. I'm excited to try that!

  8. #8
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    593
    Curio, well done, good advice, technically correct, and to the point.
    Avatar by Brudda EggHead

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •