Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: OEM icon

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    OEM icon

    Does anyone know how to get rid of "experience Vaio" and maybe fix the notch by "my documents" - (the divider)


  2. #2
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    If its similar to the DELL oem then there is a "do not display" option in Taskbar Properties>start menu>customize>advanced>scroll down the start menu items:
    until you find it and remove the tick next to it.
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  3. #3
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,705
    chaninja?

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  4. #4
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680

    Re: OEM icon

    Originally posted by lynchknot
    Does anyone know how to get rid of "experience Vaio" and maybe fix the notch by "my documents" - (the divider)
    I don't have a solution to your problem, but out of interest, what prog did you use to change you icons (my docs, control panel etc..)?

    I use a program called IconPackager but it is only a 30 day trial.
    DOH!

  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Good morning group. The Sony icon is not offered for removal in properties. Yes to Chaninja! I use Iconpackager and E-icons. Have a nice day!

  6. #6
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,705
    Try X-Setup. (http://www.xteq.com/) The best FREE tweaker. Has an OEM pic setting.

    Also, do a search for the icon. Download ResHacker (also free) from http://rpi.net.au/~ajohnson/resourcehacker/. Then go through your dll's, like shell32, shellstyle, msgina, shdocvw and search for the icon. then hack the little darling!
    Last edited by piaqt; August 4th, 2002 at 17:09 PM.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I looked all over xteq - could not find icon. I have resource hacker - I don't know where to look! I looked at sys32/sony but could not determine which was an icon.

  8. #8
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,705
    post the file on your site. i'll dl and look for it.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  9. #9
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Thanks Piaqt, I did a clean install last night so no more Sony!
    But can you tell me how to remove the "my recent documents" out of the start menu - I forgot. thanks
    **UPDATE Xteq did the trick**
    Last edited by lynchknot; August 6th, 2002 at 01:20 AM.

  10. #10
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Right click on the start button & select properties , customize , Advanced and you will see the box to uncheck

    Thats how you do it without Xteg
    Last edited by FastGame; August 6th, 2002 at 03:19 AM.

  11. #11
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    My recent docs are not offered for removal in my start menu properties.

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Right click on Start> Select Properties> Start Menu tab select customize> Select Advanced tab & there's a box at the bottom that says Most recent Documents...thats how it is on My XP's both Home & Pro. In the same tab (scroll window) I can even eliminate My Documents from being displayed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •