Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Configuring Distant lans

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2

    Configuring Distant lans

    In building A there is a high speed connection with one PC. No switch or router ( as of right now ). What I want to do is add 2 more computers to this high speed connection which are located in building B. Building B is about 300-400 feet away from building A. I thought running an ethernet cable from a 4 port router in building A to a wireless router located in building B. How do i configure the router in building B to take an ip address on the same lan and same WAN as building A?? or is there a better solution maybe a switch or a something instead of 2 routers???

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    What I would do is hook Building A computer up to a wireless/Wired Router combo. Then in building B I would use a WAP or wireless access point, with wireless NICs in each of the computers.

    I'd use the following router type in building A:

    http://www.mysale.ca/sales/40859.html

    I'd put the WAP in Building B:

    http://www.pcaware.com/proddetail.as...=741050&cat=30

    I'd stick to the wireless Super G standard that gives 108Mb/s theoretically. And I would lock it down using WEP.

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,844020,00.asp

    This keeps your LAN totally wireless and less of a mess.. no cables *which attract dirt, get kinked, and cause the workspace to look untidy.


    But if you want to keep 2 LANS separate, you can simply add a second router, link think with ethernet, configure them to have the same IP strings with the last number different ex: 192.168.0.XXX and if you want to keep the LANs separate but have access to both use different gateways on each LAN.

    there are several articles I've found on google on how to setup 2 linked routers:

    http://www.google.com/search?hs=hlz&...rs&btnG=Search
    Last edited by Big Booger; July 28th, 2005 at 05:06 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member beelzebub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    238
    first rule of networking no cat5e longer than 300ft. Big boogers suggestion is the best. The only problem with wireless is it eats up bandwidth, so if you would like higher data transfer rate i would go with a wired network, with a switch at about 100ft and then a 200ft cable from that switch to the two other computers.

    With your idea a router to connect to the WAN and a switch in the other building to connect to the router, two routers is unnecessary for this little of an operation. Then most new hardware comes with a web based configuration page that you access by typing in the IP address that the hardware is preconnfigured with, and through there you can change all the ip and security stuff.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    If speed is king, then I recommend as beelzebub says a wired solution. He's spot on. And the farther you have to run the wireless connection, the slower it will get.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2
    OK but the only thing I was thinking was will the building B WAP be able to get a strong enough signal from building A?? I mean were talkin 4 properties away at least 300 feet. Is there a router out there that would push a signal from inside building A all the waay to the other building???

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Fanner,
    You'd use directional antennas to improve wireless performance.

    http://www.hawkingtech.com/prodSpec.php?ProdID=143

    The HAI6SDP/HAI6SDA is effective on both wireless network adapters and access points. When combined with two directional antennas directed toward each other, your wireless range may be extended up to 2750ft.
    Another idea is to use a wireless expander:

    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?LIN-WRE54G

    You can even use a couple of these and they will increase your wireless range.

    Expand the range of your wireless network! The Linksys Wireless-G Range Expander is the easy way to increase the effective coverage of your wireless network.

    Unlike adding a traditional access point to your network to expand wireless coverage, the Wireless-G Range Expander does not need to be connected to the network by a data cable. Just put it within range of your main access point or wireless router, and it "bounces" the signals out to remote wireless devices.
    HOpe that helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •