Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Win2K boot-screen?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260

    Win2K boot-screen?

    In the Win2K installation I just did, every time the PC is started I get a screen up asking if I want to start "Windows 2000 Professional" or "Windows" - it's the screen you get allowing you to select safe mode, normal startup etc but normally it doesn't come up unless you hit F5...
    I've edited the file that controls the startup configurations before but can't rembember what it's called - anyone know so I can sort it out and remove this annoying interruption to my reboot?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Sample Boot.ini File

    This is a sample of a default Boot.ini file from a Windows 2000 Server-based computer:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Windows 2000 Server" /fastdetect

    Is this what you are talking about? Editing the boot.ini file?

    That one above is for windows 2000 server.

    If it is the splash screen that you are referring to:

    http://is-it-true.org/nt/nt2000/atips/atips18.shtml

    that link will help.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    Yeah it's the boot.ini I was looking for. I don't know why it has two options as soon as I installed it -I've not tried "Windows" to see what it does yet though!

    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Glad to lend a hand. Good luck with your booting.

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    if you formatted with a dos boot disk the install then copies the original boot sector as bootsec.dos and gives the option to 'boot windows' - the setup assumes it's a wndows 9x installation.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    -deleted-
    Last edited by d000hg; August 4th, 2005 at 12:30 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •