Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Ie 7.0

  1. #1
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293

    Ie 7.0

    IE 7.0 - Still a disappointment.

    LINK
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    I tried the Beta and I couldn't stand the layout hence I removed it from my system. It's pretty early though to condemn it based on a Beta.

  3. #3
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    I don't want to give the wrong impression. I have not tried the beta. I was just posting the news article. I found it interesting reading. These points were the most interesting to me.

    "The most critical point in Wilson's post, in my mind, is Microsoft's admission that it will fail the crucial Acid2 browser-compliance test , which the Web Standards Project (WaSP) designed to help browser vendors ensure that their products properly support Web standards."

    And

    "Microsoft blames backward-compatibility problems for the stalemate over true Web standards compatibility. Put succinctly, the company has gone its own way for so long and now has to support so many developers who use nonstandard Web technologies that it will be impossible to make IE Web-standards-compliant without breaking half the commercial Web sites on the planet."

    And the author's opinion -

    "My advice is simple: Boycott IE. It's a cancer on the Web that must be stopped. IE isn't secure and isn't standards-compliant, which makes it unworkable both for end users and Web content creators."
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  4. #4
    Titanium Member TZ Veteran Denyse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    634
    I just downloaded the new beta. I am sure it is for XP but each time I try to install it... it fails. Any ideas how to get it on the system?

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    You sure you aren't using a bootleg copy of XP, Denyse? I remember it validates before installation.

  6. #6
    Titanium Member TZ Veteran Denyse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    634
    No, it is 100% Genuine Microsoft. I still have the Microsoft box that it came in. When I try to install, the program does the verification check, starts to run, copies files and then the install crashes.

    I have my Anti-virus program turned off. I have also turned off Zone Alarm Pro, as well as everything else in the tray.

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    I could send you mine to check the file's OK. My installation failed the first time too, but after restarting, it worked. I think ZoneAlarm had interfered with it the first time.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    Using IE involves u into getting spywares! and that sux!! so I preffer Opera!
    But this IE 7.0 seems pretty good d'after the infos I looked up on the net, but you guys dont reassure me...

  9. #9
    Titanium Member TZ Veteran Denyse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    634
    I am still totally out of luck. I guess I will have to wait until another beta comes out. I hear a lot of people are having the same problems.

    My very sincere thanks to everyone who has tried to help me. It is really appreciated.

  10. #10
    Titanium Member TZ Veteran Denyse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    634
    I grabbed this from another board. The poster said I could share if I wished.

    Quote Originally Posted by Farquard
    Yes, you read that right. It is possible to run IE7 without installing onto your system.

    First you need to download a copy of IE7 Beta 1

    Then use WINRAR to extract the files into a directory. I would suggest that you do so to C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer 7

    Next look through the directory until you find SHLWAPI.DLL rename this file to SHLWAPI.ORG

    Now goto C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 and locate the file wininet.dll and rename that to wininet.org

    Copy wininet.dll from the C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer 7 and put it into the C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 directory.

    Now create a BLANK text file named IEXPLORE.exe.local and save it to the C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer 7 directory.

    Now you can run IE7 by double clicking on the program in the C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer 7 directory.

    Side note... by doing it this way, you do not change anything in the working of IE6 as well.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    Ill try that but I hope it doest screw up my pc, cuz I just reformatted it.

  12. #12
    Platinum+ Member bhxtyrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    729
    If anyone has tryed the above method of using IE7 beta without screwing up IE6 please let me know i'd like to test the beta out but dont want to screw up IE6

  13. #13
    Titanium Member TZ Veteran Denyse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    634
    I am using it right now. There are bugs, but it does work. Just nice to "screw" around with for a change.

  14. #14
    British Stud Muffin TZ Veteran GimieGimieGimie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK, London
    Posts
    608
    I'll be sticking with Firefox for the forseeable future, i doubt i'll ever use IE as my main web page browser ever again, unless Microsoft start dealing in black magic and pull a miracle out of their ass i won't!

    The only time i ever use IE is to save favorites, Firefoxes method of "Bookmarks" really sucks, i haven't found an effective way of backing up Firefoxes bookmark list, well, nothing that compares to just copying and pasting the favorites folder in Windows

    Which is a real shame.

    I've used Opera in the past, but i always found something wrong with it that didn't agree with me, that being said, the last version i did try was 6.0, maybe i should try again.

    Firefox is just too damn good though, learned to trust it like an old person would trust their zimerframe
    Last edited by GimieGimieGimie; August 20th, 2005 at 13:25 PM.

  15. #15
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Denyse01
    I am using it right now. There are bugs, but it does work. Just nice to "screw" around with for a change.
    Off topic, your Sig is getting "nicer" as time goes by!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •