Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Internet Explorer 6 problemzz!

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613

    Unhappy Internet Explorer 6 problemzz!

    I got the latest version of IE6 and today I wanted to go check my mail in hotmail and it did not work, then I wanted to go on the videotron site to check my bandwidth use but the page did not load properly. Then when I tried both of those stuff using Firefox it worked. Whats wrong with my IE6???

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Did you get this fixed yet ?

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    nope i am still waiting for it to get ficexed, oh and when i'm on man messenger and I click read messages, from there, my mail still doesent load! But rite know i am using Opera and it seems to work fine, but I still want my IE to get fixed. What shall I do?

  4. #4
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    The first thing you should do is go into Internet Options and make sure the security setting arent set to high.

    Does it give you any error code or something ?

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    It simply brings me to this link "http://loginnet.passport.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=4105&_lang=EN" when i do www.hotmail.com and then there is just a white screen and it stopped loading. And the security level is set to deffaulf (that means in my cas medium)

  6. #6
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    684
    Go to tools - internet options and click 'restore defaults' under the 'advanced' tab. That helped when I had a similar problem.

    Do you have IE Sp1? Try reinstalling IE 6 if nothing else works. Its probably a virus or corrupt file problem.

  7. #7
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Firstly delete your Temp internet files and cookies from IE. Tools > Internet Options.

    Now try the hotmail page.

    If that solution hasn't fixed it try the following:

    Look in the hosts file, located in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc.Open the file with notepad and delete any reference to hotmail.Save the changes and hit OK.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    how to know if its a reference to hotmail notepad file??

  9. #9
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Quote Originally Posted by lankan_man
    how to know if its a reference to hotmail notepad file??
    This is the default contents of the hosts file:

    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    If your contains anything related to hotmail,delete that reference.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    Okay so I gotta do that for each files rite,cuz there isnt only one notpad file

  11. #11
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Quote Originally Posted by lankan_man
    Okay so I gotta do that for each files rite,cuz there isnt only one notpad file
    What do you mean "each file".There is only one hosts file.

    Follow my previous instructions.

    Look in the hosts file, located in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc.Open the file with notepad and delete any reference to hotmail.Save the changes and hit OK.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    ok i did what u said [Look in the hosts file, located in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc.] then this is wut i found in the file:

    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 support.alcohol-soft.com
    127.0.0.1 serial.alcohol-soft.com
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    AmsServer

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    am I supposed 2 delete these 2 lines 127.0.0.1 support.alcohol-soft.com
    127.0.0.1 serial.alcohol-soft.com

    cuz its not the same as ur hosts. file

  14. #14
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Quote Originally Posted by lankan_man
    am I supposed 2 delete these 2 lines 127.0.0.1 support.alcohol-soft.com
    127.0.0.1 serial.alcohol-soft.com

    cuz its not the same as ur hosts. file
    No you can leave them.

    Delete your Temp internet files and cookies from IE. Tools > Internet Options.

    Or try what tarun suggested:

    Go to tools - internet options and click 'restore defaults' under the 'advanced' tab.

    Try reinstalling IE 6 if nothing else works.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    I did everything u said except reinstalling IE cuz when I try reistalling it they say thete there is a newer version installed. so what shall I do?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •