Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Problem with zip files

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    5

    Angry Problem with zip files

    Hi @ all. I hope someone can help me with my problem.
    The prob is the following : Everytime i try to unpack a zip, ace or rar file, he procedes to about 50 % and then stops to unpack it. A pop-up window appears saying that the archive is damaged or a crc error is found.
    On my brothers pc, unpacking works perfectly. He has got the same windows version then ma and mainly the same hardware configuration. I sometimes even got problems with installation files. Eg the windows installer causes errors and the installation process simply stops. Would be nice if anyone could help me out. Pherhaps a driver problem ? Cya

  2. #2
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Perhaps you have low diskpace on your C:

    have you checked lately ???

    When uncompressing it will uncompress to a temp file first,,, if this is on a full drive then it will cause an error.

    Just one suggestion,,, might be something else

    Thanks

    Richard

  3. #3
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Are you using the default Windows Compressed Folders to unzip? Have you tried using another program like Winrar or Winzip?

  4. #4
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    hi:

    goto
    www.antivirus.com
    and look for the free online virus scanner
    you might have a virus

    also if the files you have are from the internet than you might have incomplete file download problems

    try a download manager to see if that helps

    also try winrar to unzip or unace

    via chipsets also have a problem with sblive cards and data corruption occures

    this is just some of the possible causes you may have

    hows the cpu?
    are you overclocking?

    bad memory speed also leads to data corruption

    im sure your problem is simple so i dont want to alarm you

    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Try these programs:

    http://www.winrar.com

    http://www.winace.com

    http://www.winzip.com

    The above are the ones I use most frequently for compressed files. Winrar seems to work the best out of the three, but I use all three, depending on the file and what mood I am in hehehe

    YOu might want to check your XP file system just in case:

    click start
    click on run
    type the following

    sfc /scannow

    click oK

    MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR XP CD available, you are going to need it. This is the system file checker for XP. It will find and repair damaged system files.


    While you are at it, you might also try chkdsk /f
    It might tell you that the volume is being used and it might ask you to do this the next time your system restarts TYPE Y and the hit enter.

    That should fix and repair any system file that is damaged or corrupt as well as find and fix any disk errors you might have...
    Keep us updated on your progress.
    BB

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    5
    Well thx first for the fast help. But it cannot be a problem with the pack program. I got winrar, winace and winzip, always the same bug. A virus is not possible too, because i formated my system before installing xp just 6 days ago. The free disk space on drive c: is about 5GB and every other disk has not less than 2 gb.
    I think it is caused by the via bug. Cuz i got a KT266A Mainboard and a Soundblaster live value card. Thx for the tipp i try to download the newes drivers.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    5
    Mhh problem isn`t solved yet. I installed the newest via 4in1 driver, the new soundblaster driver and a new bios. Same problem as before. Teh strange thing about it, unzipping the via drivers worked. I am now going to try boogers propose.

  8. #8
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    where are the corrupt zip files?

    on a cd?

    or are they freshly downloaded from the internet?

    if so are you on dial-up or cable?

    very strange
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    5
    The files are burned on cd. When I copy them to disk and then try to unzip them, the bug appears. Same with the Americas Army demo. Installing from cd works until the windowsinstaller appears. When i copy the file to disk, i cannot even unpack it.

  10. #10
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    do the files unpack on the cd when run from your friends computer?


    i have a problem with americas army
    it wont install on my system
    i had to run the installer in compatibility mode
    then it installed and i can play the game in normal mode

    that is a very interesting army bug that wont install in xp
    i think it asked to copnnect to the internet and i said no

    free from the army?
    well...
    at what price


    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    5
    Everything works on other poeple computers. Unpackin from cd, installing from cd, unpacking on harddisk. But my pc causes an error message. Not only with americas amry but with all zip or other archive files....

  12. #12
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Goddy,have you tried running system file checker?

    Open the Run box from start menu and type sfc /scannow
    (make sure you leave a space between sfc and /)
    Pop your XP cd in when asked,during the scan.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  13. #13
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    it sounds like a virus on your puter



    if you've done a virus check from www.antivirus.com
    try to download a zip from the internet
    anything, but over 5 mg
    if it unzipped fine then try the fix below
    if it did not unzip then dont do this

    goto
    startmenu/control panel-
    system/hardware-
    device manager/ide controllers-
    click on the primary or secondary ide channel that your cd is on
    goto advanced settings
    and set your cd player to p10 mode only from the dropdown box

    reboot and try to unzip

    on your next post please give full details on your system specs

    thanks

    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •