Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DI-604 D1 not accessible

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4

    DI-604 D1 not accessible

    Hi,
    I have router DI-604 Ver.D1,
    to the router are connected 2 PCs and router is connected with DSL modem

    I HAD this problem,
    on PC everyhing worked ok, on the other one sometimes yes and sometimes
    i could't access to Internet i had to turn off and on the router and then it was ok for few hours/days.
    On the router is no firewall, no filter as well on the PC's

    Originally there was firmware Ver.3.06 so i updated on Ver.3.11
    Afterwards PC which worked before, was still working, but PC with problems before couldn't access Internet at all.

    So I went back to Ver.3.06, but during firmware uploading i got message, that router is not accesible.

    Now one PC work still ok, but from other one i can ping other PC, but can not ping router
    (and also can not access web interface for configuration).
    I have a feeling like original IP address for router 192.168.0.1 was change.

    Anybody can help?

    Thanks Michal

  2. #2
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4
    Yes i've been, but it doesn't help

  4. #4
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    This from DLink Q&A section.

    Q. What can I do if I forgot my password?

    A. The following reset procedure will completely restore the default settings on your D-Link device including your password. This procedure applies to the DI-514, DI-524, DI-604, DI-614+, DI-624, DI-624M, DI-754, DI-764, DI-774, DI-784, DI-804V, DWL-700AP, DWL-800AP+, DWL-900AP+, DWL-1000AP+, DWL-2000AP, DWL-2100AP, DWL-6000AP, DWL-7000AP, and DWL-7100AP.

    Step 1 Locate the reset pinhole on the back of the unit.

    Step 2 With the unit powered on, press and hold the Reset button.

    Step 3 Hold the Reset button for about 10 seconds.

    Step 4 Release the Reset button.

    Step 5 The unit will reboot. Allow 20-30 seconds before reconnecting.

    Step 6 The device is now at factory defaults.

    Note: Do not recycle power during the reset procedure.

    The default user name for most D-Link devices is admin and the password is left blank.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks,
    i have tryed it this way and also some other ways what i found on Internet,
    but it doesn't work.

    And i dont know what my roommate was doing while i was at work, but now he also doesn't get IP adress from router (even before he did).
    Only way how to access internet now is to connest his computer directly to modem, but we need Internet both.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Problem Solved

    Hi people,
    thanks to everybody for help, but i solved my problem by my self (actually my friend helped me)

    The problem was, that it is too many ways how to reset the router to the factory settings and just one worked in my case.

    »www.dl-router.de/forum/viewtopic.php?p..

    For those which can not speak German
    1. Connect the router to electricity
    2 Press a hold reset button for cca.. 20 seconds
    3. Disconnect the router from electricity
    3. Still hold the reset button for next 20 seconds
    4. Connect router back to electricity
    5. Still hold reset for next 20 sec.
    (I know it looks strange but it's working at least in my case)

    Then I used utility from
    »home.tiscali.de/smilie/20041228_604_70..

    which detected old firmware in my router (It was crashed) and uploaded new one 3.09. Even it's not the newest one it's working so i won't touch it anymore. But it looks like that it's better the original 3.06 at least connection is not dropping anymore.

    Afterwards i did reset router normal way.
    waited cca. 30 seconds
    and then i could access router over »192.168.0.1

  7. #7
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    That is one complicated reset proceedure.

    Glad you fixed it.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •