Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: IE6 URL Resolve problem

  1. #1
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308

    IE6 URL Resolve problem

    I have a issue here that I can't seem to find a fix for and want to see if you have ran into it. Ok here is the issue, I have a computer here any time you try to go to a web site ( ill use www.google.com as an example) I type it into the browser but when IE try's to go to the Site it try's to look it up as www.www.google.com.edu . I have ran a Hi jack repair tool, sweep the registry and can't find no issues there. I also have ran the command line SFC /scannow with a big NOGO on that. Also I have removed the IE from the windows component and reinstalled it. Also when I open My computer and then type a URL in the explore it will resolve the correct URL. So it works from the My computer explorer but will not work from IE it self. I have also tried the IEfix tool from Microsoft and made a .BAT file to replace all IE6 DLL file. It reads like this :



    regsvr32 urlmon.dll

    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll

    regsvr32 Msjava.dll

    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll

    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll

    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll

    regsvr32 Browseui.dll

    regsvr32 Shell32.dll

    I also try the the fix listed on this web site
    Is there any thing else i should try to fix this ?

  2. #2
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    Any one have any ideals on how to fix this Problem short of re building the system or have it imaged.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    613
    There is this prog called IE fix, u should try it out, click on the link below.

    http://windowsxp.mvps.org/IEFIX.htm

    note*

    dont forget to read the instructions before proceeding with prog

  4. #4
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    I tryed the IE fix tool, still nothing the URL trys to resolve the same way. Thank you for the help.

  5. #5
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    Hello all i have another computer with the same issue but this time when it opens a web site i get an error that the DNS error. I have tryed every thing listed above and nothing is working. the symptoms are little diffrent but the problem is the same. Dose any one have any ideal of how to fix this IE6 SP2 issue

  6. #6
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Is anything listed in the Hosts file?

  7. #7
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    Yes the Host files has a complete list of DNS entry for every web site IE6 trys to view. In the host file even resolves the IP address of the URLs.


    I am realy stuck on this problem
    Last edited by Linedawg; October 18th, 2005 at 19:34 PM.

  8. #8
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    684
    Sure it can't be spyware?

  9. #9
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    i have used 3 spyware tools and nothing has came up on it. I used Spybot, Ad-Aware, and web root. The system shows up as clean. I also checked for a brower hi-jack. can find any thing that would show this being the case.

  10. #10
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    684
    Give Ewido 3.5 a try, it removed a trojan once where others failed.
    Sorry, but I'm stumped.

  11. #11
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    did you create the listings in the host file? if not you could try using just the generic host file like this:

    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •