Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Konfabulator

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660

    Konfabulator

    Any of you use this product?
    Download: Konfabulator for Windows

    V E R S I O N 2 . 1 . 1
    Full install 8.8 MB
    Requires Windows XP or 2000

    Download Konfabulator by clicking on the link above.
    Note that you may be taken to a mirror site.

    Once you’ve successfully downloaded Konfabulator, quit any version that may be running, open the installer that should now be on your desktop, or in your downloads folder.

    Once the installation is complete, launch Konfabulator. Once you launch, we’ll take care of the rest and walk you through getting started!

    View: The Widgets for Konfabulator

    Screenshot:

    I know this has been around for a while, and that I believe Yahoo bought the site and product. I never got around to using it because I thought it was useless... but it looks rather nifty, just wondering if any of you use it.

    I hope yahoo doesn't screw it up.

  2. #2
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    I used it once (the GMail Notifier widget) but I didn't find any use for it- just a lot of eye candy.

    Nice screenshot btw.

  3. #3
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    I've heard about it a lot but never used it.

    As for Yahoo! buying it, I heard they're going to keep it free (no ads) and it will become more sophisticated. I guess they'll use Yahoo! accounts to keep a list of your widgets, so you can get them from any computer you use.

    I might give it a try. Is it a resource hog?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Quote Originally Posted by hotmale
    I might give it a try. Is it a resource hog?
    Depends on how many widgets you use. I use 3 or 4 and each one takes up about 1-6mb of memory.

  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Thanks, I'll give it a try and let you know. It looks cute

  6. #6
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Update :
    I've been running those widgets for half a day and they are awesome. I have the analog clock, memory gauge, weather and "what to do" They're using only 10MB altogether which seems reasonable. Here's a screenshot:


    I'm thinking about installing the ObjectDock as well. It would look great!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    looks nice hotmale. And it uses very little resources.. 10mb is nothing... unless you're running so 10 year old 386 machine or something...

    I am now using a happy face clock, and the memory gauge as well. YOu can download and install more widgets too.

    I just wonder if the novelty will wear off and I will get bored with it...

  8. #8
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    I just wonder if the novelty will wear off and I will get bored with it...
    I think I might get bored after a while. It has happenned to me in the past when I installed ObjectDock, Style XP and others.

  9. #9
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    I have tried both Konfabulator and Kapsules http://kapsules.shellscape.org/.

    Currently using Kapsules and basically just the Weather, Uptime, and Drive Info widgets.

    Oh, and Kapsules is totally free free free

  10. #10
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    I use it for one widget only. I have a 50% transparent analog clock on the topmost window. It allows me to remove the clock in the system tray to gain more room on the bottom toolbar.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  11. #11
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    340
    Yes, since it became free, its attracting people. For me, it takes up about as much as MSN Messenger 7.5, which is still too much...

    NOTE: For those who are sick of the standard XP taskbar, and do not use some crazed theme programs as they eat resources (Like me, I am sick of even the Royale theme from Media Centre Edition) and want something like a Mac OS X niffy little rollover taskbar with the desktop widgets like in Panther, the Konfabulator is the first step towards that.
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  12. #12
    Member ashish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    79
    i was just reading about this the other day.. but forgot all about it.. gonna install it some of the widgets sound and look really cool... hope it just does not mess up my PC like IE7 beta
    Cheers,
    Bringing The Humanity Back Into Computing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •