Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Unauthorized re-boot

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    Unauthorized re-boot

    Hello group, while browsing this forum, my puter decided to re-boot all on it's own. What's up with that?

  2. #2
    Gold Member Blackwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    452
    that means your system had a "critical" error and your PC is set to automatically reboot when it comes by a critical error..

    If you want to find out what the error was about next time, then do this : right click on my computer > properties > Advanced tab > under startup & recovery, select "settings" and uncheck the box next to "automatically restart" .. next time an error occurs, it will show you the BSOD instead of just rebooting..

    but if you are still wondering what it was about, then you can check the Event viewer, a service on windows that logs every application, system errors etc..

    To reach this, go to your control panel> administrative tools > and open event viewer.. look under the "System" and it should show an error marked with a Red X , and that is most probably why your computer rebooted by itself..

    I hope that helps

    Blackwar

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Thanks BW - it's DCOM errors.

  4. #4
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Make sure that you do the first part that Blackwar suggest & disable the auto restart on error so you can see for sure what the error is.

    Hope all goes well

  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    How you doing FG - one more day!!!

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Ok, I got a blue screen. It says: check to see if adequate disk space. - I have 69.36GB left.

    Check bios updates. ??? new computer.

    Tech info: 0X0000008E (and some other #'s)

    Beginning dump of physical memory....................

    I have lost NAV subscription service and it also, when trying to get live update, states something regarding my "make sure disk is not full".

    I just got a message from NAV to re-install.


    Last edited by lynchknot; August 14th, 2002 at 22:41 PM.

  7. #7
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Originally posted by lynchknot
    Ok, I got a blue screen. It says: check to see if adequate disk space. - I have 69.36GB left.

    Check bios updates. ??? new computer.

    Tech info: 0X0000008E (and some other #'s)

    Beginning dump of physical memory....................

    I have lost NAV subscription service and it also, when trying to get live update, states something regarding my "make sure disk is not full".

    I just got a message from NAV to re-install.


    In trying to update NAV today, I got the same message as you "make sure disk is not full". I was about to reformat to fix this, but I guess I'll wait a while if this problem is experienced by anyone else.

  8. #8
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I just re-installed NAV and tried to get an update and i'm getting the same message.

  9. #9
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Me as well. I had problems this morning with a program not wanting to run and did a system restore to get things working again. I wonder if there is a conection like with lynchknot?

  10. #10
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I hope NAV fixes the problem soon 'cause I've got no protection. Well i'm not opening mail or sharing files at least.

    Here you go Fastgame


  11. #11
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Here's a SS of my critical errors. Will someone advise me on what to do? There was no CD rom in. I did forget to take a CDrw disk out of the RW drive. I have Nero installed if that had anything to do with it. Thanks

    Screenshot

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Originally posted by lynchknot
    I hope NAV fixes the problem soon 'cause I've got no protection. Well i'm not opening mail or sharing files at least.

    Here you go Fastgame

    OMG lynchknot , what did you do to my bird is that blood...right through the Heart ?

    NAV running fine for me can't see your screen shot the link is down

    [edit] I see it now , go to control panel> performance&maintance>Administrative tools>Services...now find IMAPI CD Burning C... and disable it. That and Nero don't like each other.
    Last edited by FastGame; August 15th, 2002 at 03:24 AM.

  13. #13
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Well, so much for the SS. Netfirms is down and Boomspeed is impossible to log in to. Hey FG, you have no problems updating?
    **NF back up**

    LOL sorry FG!!! Yes, it's blood!! used, blued, and tattooed!
    Last edited by lynchknot; August 15th, 2002 at 03:21 AM.

  14. #14
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Originally posted by lynchknot
    Ok, I got a blue screen. It says: check to see if adequate disk space. - I have 69.36GB left.

    Check bios updates. ??? new computer.

    Tech info: 0X0000008E (and some other #'s)

    Beginning dump of physical memory....................

    I have lost NAV subscription service and it also, when trying to get live update, states something regarding my "make sure disk is not full".

    I just got a message from NAV to re-install.


    just wondering

    someone here said xp has cant see over 40gigs or somthing like that

    can you copy a 3 gig file to another directory and see if you get any hd errors?

    xp giving a blue screen error over diskspace is an urgent matter

    did you check for viruses?
    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_pcc.asp

    it has to be a virus or a hd partition problem

    there really isnt much else it could be

    make sure you can still add large files to the hd
    and do the online virus scan

    how big are the hd's in question?


    egghead

  15. #15
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I got another blue screen trying that antivirus check. I'll try it again now. I just installed this XP pro last week into one 80GB HD.
    No partitions. I'm using 5.2 gigs now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •