Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Building New Rig!

  1. #1
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843

    Exclamation Building New Rig!

    okay i need the vets and others to give me a hand if ya all can help that is, this might be hard lol, okay heres goes,

    I need a amd 64 mobo that has Certified Support for 4 gig duel Channel ram via 2x2 gig sticks, and SLI If possable,iv set aside $6000 for this new rig, so if ya got time go to work =), thanks in advance to every for thier hard work searching,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  2. #2
    Member Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Arecibo, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    55
    Nice but... why AMD? Lol!
    http://www.tomshardware.com/ and http://www.anandtech.com/ are a good sites for reviews and benchmarks!

    But think about it, with all that money? Ill buy a Intel solution!

  3. #3
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843
    iv Built a few high end intel solutions against my wish's but they wanted intel so i builtto thier order, and i built same in a amd solution and of course the amd beat the intel in every aspect, it even beat it in power consuption, amd is a bit pricey for the really high end stuff but you pay for what ya get and sometimes you get lucky and get a good overcloking cpu, plus amd has the only real 64 gaming cpu, the intel dont match up very well against it, but for all this amd does have a down side it cant use DDR 2 yet, and thats a bummer but it still has ultra low latency ram, but that in short is why i choose amd, iv had better experiances with it and in past very speedy returns on overclocked to death cpus =),


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  4. #4
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843

    Exclamation found some peices

    heres the list so far,

    1,A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    2,Acer Ferrari F-20
    3,Kingston 2GB Kit DDR PC3200 X 2
    4,AMD 4800 Duel Core
    5,Enermax® Liberty SeriesELT620AWT
    6,Lian Li PC-V1000
    7,Coolermaster Hyper 6+

    waiting to find a good Sata 2 hd,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    The list looks good except, get Crucial Ballistix instead of Kingston. On the HD why mess around ? WD Raptors

  6. #6
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843

    Exclamation raptors arent sata 2 =)

    i want to get the full bandwith of sata 2 in this system maybe wd will release one in the nexy few months lol, other then that whats the diff between cruial isnt that usualy a low costing brand? or have they come into thier own age and make serious ram? basicly reason im goin with kingston is becuase i can duel channel 4 gig by 2x 2gig sticks, and thier only going to cost me $460 for 4 gigs of ram, lol.


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  7. #7
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,101
    What's the Acer Ferrari F-20? Sounds like the laptop that Acer makes.Good choice for a case,I've got a P60.I have read recently that Antec power supplies are the most stable especially with the high end video cards out there.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  8. #8
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    yeah SW, you forgot to add the video to your list?? Nvidia 7800 or ATI x1800 ??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  9. #9
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843

    Exclamation i know lol,

    reading reviews of differnt 512mb 7800 gts and seeing which actually support HDR, cant seem to find any that say they have i found 6600's that have it lol but no 7800s yet, and hoping for a 1 gig version of mem per card lol, but i cant wait that long,and for cash heres the monitor,

    1, Acer Ferrari F-20


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  10. #10
    Senior Member beelzebub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    238
    Case: Thermaltake Tsunami $115
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133132

    CD/DVD DL Burner: LG IDE Black $39.99 (x2)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136071

    Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA2 $331.50 (x2)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148108

    RAM: OCZ Platinum pc4000 1GB $151.44 (x4)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227224

    Monitors: Acer AL1951B 19" 6ms 700:1 400 cd/m2 $369.00 (x2)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009051

    Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium $163.00
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540

    Power Supply: ENERMAX Liberty 620W $174.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194004

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ $787.00
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103544

    Video Card: eVGA Geforce 7800GTX $479.00 (x2)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130234

    Extras:
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic $119.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102188

    Tv Tuner Card: Hauppauge WINTV401 TV/FM Tuner $70.00
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815116606

    Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 5.1 $206.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836121120

    Total: $4681.71 (with out tax or shipping)

    I am never going to use intel (bring down the beast).
    Last edited by beelzebub; November 27th, 2005 at 06:05 AM.

  11. #11
    Member jan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Florida,USA
    Posts
    80
    Inre to the hdd(S) I would suggest you consider the Seagate 7200rpm SATA with NCQ which actually beats the 10K SATA's.

    If you dont believe me you can read more here.

    Drives are here.

    Its what Im using now.

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by jan
    Inre to the hdd(S) I would suggest you consider the Seagate 7200rpm SATA with NCQ which actually beats the 10K SATA's.
    There's one 10K SATA it won't beat, the WD 74g Raptor is king of the non-SCSI types

    The Seagate is a nice drive and certainly worth consideration, here's how it stacks up against the competition StorageReview.com

    Here's a good pull down for sorting all the HD's rankings through all benchmarks, also has option for Head to Head comparison.

    BTW SW, can you give me an example of why you need 4gig's of ram ? I can't think of why 2gig's isn't plenty.

  13. #13
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843

    Exclamation Server/gaming

    i plan to run a server from a ramdisk, and plus i can use 4 gigs to install certain games into the ram, like wow,wich seems to disconnect me about 251 tims a day, no mater what i do i still get disconnected, heres my old rig ,

    1, A7N8X Deluxe rev 2.0
    2, 1 gig duel channel ram
    3, 80 gig ata 133 maxtor diamond 9
    4, 350 watt psu enermax
    5, gerforce fx 5900 xt 128
    6, dlink 510 g gigabit nic,
    7, game theater xp 7.1

    thats the specs that disconnected me 251 times a day, and no matter what i do i couldnt fix it so i built a new rig,

    1,Nforce 3 Neo 2 amd 64 from msi,
    2,1 gig byoc duel channel
    3,250 gig wd sata.
    4,geforce 5900 XT 128
    5, marvel gigbyte nic,
    6, amd 64 3600+

    still same thing dissconects me 160 times a day,

    so im opting to build a machine that wont have such problems or atl leat under 100 disconects a day,

    my cable provider is set to 5 mbs down 1.5 mbs up, and they dont know why it happens, so thats why im building this new rig, and getting as much ram as possable in deul channel config, im looking into the 4800+ duel core for better gaming hopefully,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

  14. #14
    Senior Member beelzebub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    238
    the dual core will not help for a few years, interms of gaming, the only thing dual core is good for right now is multimedia stuff, i.e. photoshop and making a dvd at the same time. but getting one now will make your computer almost future proof.

    Oh yeah inreference to WD, I have had really bad experiences with them in the past. And, i dont trust one at 7200rpm, much less at 10000rpm. But, I guess when you take a SCSI hard drive and put a SATA controller on it, you still get the durability of SCSI. When it comes to hard drives I prefer Hitachi or Seagate. Unfortunetly newegg did not have the Hitachi 500gb Sata2 in their catalog, anymore, so I had to post the Seagate one.
    Last edited by beelzebub; November 28th, 2005 at 01:11 AM.

  15. #15
    Hardware Guru TZ Veteran shadow_warez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton,
    Posts
    843

    Exclamation maybe,

    well i was readingo n new egg that alot of ppl were having probs witht he 500 gb drives,but i guess thats natrueal as it is new technolgy and mother boards are still getting updates to actualy use that much space, but really all in want is to use sata 2 since its supposed to be faster then sata 1 by 50% and hopefully run a server os from a ramdisk,plus fix all probs with World of Warcraft,


    A Great Sig Done by a Great Artist,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •