Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Question about D-Link 704P router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3

    Question about D-Link 704P router

    Everything looks fine - reading the data from D-Link site and also by reading user's reviewes.

    However I need to make it absolutely sure, if this router can support more than 4 computers.
    In all specs it says 4 users, in some others it is being referred to as a 4 port switch.

    Since I intend to order such a router overseas (Israel), I want to make sure that I do not mess it up, by assuming wrongly.

    Thanks in advance for everyone with specific knowledge.

    Zvi Grinberg
    Israel

  2. #2
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Hi,

    Although pictures don't show much.

    The spec sheet shows the following

    One WAN
    Four LAN

    Therefore you will be able to connect 4 computers to this and then connect another cable to the internet etc etc

    Should suit your need

    Thanks

    Richard

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3
    Richard,

    Thanks for fast reply.

    I'm affraid I was not clear enough. I have more than 4 computers to connect. The question is if I can use a switch for further expansion.

    Zvi

  4. #4
    Server God Administrator Richard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    316
    Sure you can add a switch/hub to each port.

    e.g) put 4x 8port hubs on to give yourself 32 ports

    Just remember that the more you daisy chain the higher the potential collision risks occur and response times

    Plus you would only be able to manage the router ports via the web so group similar tasked computers on the same ports

    Hope this makes sense

    Thanks

    Richard

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    3
    Richard,

    Thanks for the help.

    I thought that if they write "4 LAN" they insist on making a physical limit, so that it will not support (provide different IPs) more than these 4.

    Zvi

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    On my wireless router I can have up to 4 land lines and 32 wireless devices connected simulataneously and if I chose to do so I could add a couple hubs and switches for further expansion...
    Just my situation in a nutshell.
    BB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •