Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Advice please, on setting restricted sites in Firefox

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    21

    Advice please, on setting restricted sites in Firefox

    Can anyone please advise me on how to set up restricted sites in Firefox, that is, do the equivalent of using Tools> Security> Restricted sites in Internet Explorer?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    38
    There isn't one natively. You can use the hosts file to block them. There is a extension that allows you do this.

    here.
    Last edited by Reverend; December 20th, 2005 at 19:12 PM.
    http://www.eztechhelp.com

    Want your own website? Check out an easy to use CMS system at http://ezcms.eztechhelp.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    21

    Thanks for your advice

    Thanks very much for your advice regarding the Policy Manager extension. The site blocking via the policy manager seems to work fine, bringing up the required message "Forbidden You don't have permission to access / on this server."

    I used the following steps:

    1. Download and install the Policy Manager extension using the link above from gamedango.
    2. Use the resulting Policy Manager entry on the Firefox Tools menu to create a new policy called 'Restricted Sites'.
    3. Select the negative option for each setting in the new policy, ie. Disable Javascript, Block cookies, Don't load images, Block popups, and Block software installation.
    4. Use the 'Add new site to this list' button to add the site to the Restricted Sites policy.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    38
    It's a good tool. Glad it worked.


    OT, why was my post edited?
    http://www.eztechhelp.com

    Want your own website? Check out an easy to use CMS system at http://ezcms.eztechhelp.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    So I could use this plugin to block ads that slow my browsing? Would I have to block every individual ad that comes in a rotation or can I just block wherever they come from?
    I'm talking about banners etc in free forums and the like.

  6. #6
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    For adblocking, many people use "Ad-blocker" FFox plugin. However, this plugin cant really be used to restrict access to certain websites like policy manager does.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    If only I use my PC I don't have any reason to block websites do I? Or is there more to it than that - otherwise I'll just look up this ad-blocker plugin. Is there a best place to look for 'official'/approved plugins or can I just pick the first site Google suggests - I don't want to risk installing some dodgy plugin!

  8. #8
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    176
    You can use the Hosts file to block undesirable websites by simply redirecting to localhost.

    1. Download Hoster.
    2. Open up the Hoster program.
    3. In the box that says "add to hosts file" type in 127.0.0.1 (address of the site)
    4. Click "Add to hosts file".
    Last edited by Kane; March 1st, 2006 at 16:17 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •