Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: New Harddrive, new problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11

    Exclamation New Harddrive, new problem

    Good day to all,

    I just installed a new hard drive, Maxtor 200G and have come upon an interesting problem.

    When the computer is turned on, it turns it self off right away,(that is green power light is on but nothing is functioning) and you have to press the power button about two times and then reset button for it to boot normally. Sometime pressing the power button will make it startup normally for about 2 seconds and then everything will power down.

    When I take this hard drive out and put the old one back in the problem disappears. The old one was an 80 gig Western Digital. I thought that maybe this is a power issue, but I have a brand new 500w power supply installed which should be more than enough for what I have in my system:

    AMD 2400+
    1Gig ram
    NVIDIA GE 128MB PCI Card
    SB 128 PCI Card
    LG Dvd burner
    floppy
    ethernet


    And I don't understand why it will only boot normally if you press the reset button??

    Has anybody encountered this? Could it be a faulty power cable?

    It's making me feel like this is an old car that needs to be kickstarted

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Hello ParadoxMan and welcome to TZ

    If I had that problem I would check these...

    IDE/SATA cable, power cable, master/slave jumper and bios settings.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Hello ParadoxMan and welcome to TZ

    If I had that problem I would check these...

    IDE/SATA cable, power cable, master/slave jumper and bios settings.
    Checked the ide cables, power cable, master jumper settings, all ok.

    All that's left is the bios. I'm going to flash it tonight to the latest version.

    As for the settings, I don't know what would be wrong in the settings as they are all on auto... I'm going to fool around with the setting's tonight and check it out.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11
    Well... I've flashed the bios now as well.

    No cigar...

    Everything seems ok, I ran various software checks, all of them ok.

    Turning the comp is causing a problem. Its sort of annoying to keep having to press the reset button to get it working properly.

    The only thing left could be that its because of a **** motherboard. Its an ecs mb.

    The funny thing is, there are no other problems, no crashes, nothing.

    If anyone has any ideas I'd love to hear em

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Does it do this with the old HD ?

  6. #6
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Is your new hard drive a SATA ??

    Have you installed the drivers for it. (normally come with the mobo) ?
    Is SATA/SCSI enabled in the BIOS ?
    Is the boot order correct in the BIOS ? If the new drive is SATA but you haven't changed the boot order Windows might still be trying to find your old ATA drive.
    Is the new drive recognized correctly in device manager ?
    Last edited by Reverend; January 4th, 2006 at 14:21 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Does it do this with the old HD ?
    Not at all. It works perfectly with the old one.

    Another weird thing I noticed (that made me believe it might be a mb issue is in bios the drive is detected, but the drive's size is detected as 204Gigs, its a 200gig drive; and usually most drives are detected with their size under (200gig = 198gig, 80gig = 79gig). This could be nothing of course, but I just thought it interesting.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Reverend
    Is your new hard drive a SATA ??

    1. Have you installed the drivers for it. (normally come with the mobo) ?
    2. Is SATA/SCSI enabled in the BIOS ?
    3. Is the boot order correct in the BIOS ?
    4. If the new drive is SATA but you haven't changed the boot order Windows might still be trying to find your old ATA drive.
    5. Is the new drive recognized correctly in device manager ?
    1. Drivers are installed and updated
    2. Does not apply
    3. Yes, and I've changed it several times just to check.
    4. Does not apply
    5. Yes

    Let me just re-iterate that the computer does not power on fully, so that it doesnt even have enought time to run post; unless I press reset button.

    Detailed symptoms stepbystep:

    I press power button, computer powers on and within a second powers down. I press power button again same thing happens. I press it again and it looks like its running fine, but nothing is happening (does not reach bios, no post, no hd access). I press reset twice and it restarts and starts working fine.

  9. #9
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    So in other words this "start "restart" thing happens no matter which HD (old or new ) you have ? if so maybe you should try the old power supply, if its still available.

    Also look at the capacitors on the MB, make sure they aren't leaking or have bulged tops.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    So in other words this "start "restart" thing happens no matter which HD (old or new ) you have ? if so maybe you should try the old power supply, if its still available.

    Also look at the capacitors on the MB, make sure they aren't leaking or have bulged tops.
    No, the start/restart thing only happens with the new HD not the old one. So thats how I know that it isnt the power supply...

  11. #11
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Well IMO you've pretty much covered everything (that I know of) the best you can...except one last thing...remove the cables from the HD and make sure all the pins on the HD are good, none bent or loose.

    Guess you might send the HD back and get it replaced, anyhoo let us know the out come.

    Sorry I'm out of ideas

  12. #12
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Get a replacement HDD.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Well IMO you've pretty much covered everything (that I know of) the best you can...except one last thing...remove the cables from the HD and make sure all the pins on the HD are good, none bent or loose.

    Guess you might send the HD back and get it replaced, anyhoo let us know the out come.

    Sorry I'm out of ideas
    Thanks for your help. Will let you know what the problem was once I solve it. For now itll have to operate on the crank start basis.

  14. #14
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Quote Originally Posted by ParadoxMan
    For now itll have to operate on the crank start basis.
    Don't continue with that method for too long, it will cause permanent damage to the HDD.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  15. #15
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Do you have any more power leads from the PS to the SATA drive? if so swap to a different one. It could still be a fubar'd power lead.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •