Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: x800se or 6600gt?

  1. #1
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506

    x800se or 6600gt?

    hi guys

    what the best one for the money?

    pixel shading 3.0?

    128 - 256?

    only agp

    price about $200 from this selection
    http://www.atic.ca/index.php?page=Products&cat=9

    opinions needed please

    any links to compared benchmarks?
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/radeon/rx800-9.html click on the benchies for the graph results.

    There's no 6600GT in the test, you'll see that the x800se is a refresh of the 9800 Pro.

  3. #3
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    so stay away from x800se?

    go with 6600gt?

    no 128 for agp

    can you look at atic.ca (link i posted and choose one that you feel is the best for performance and price?

    $200
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  4. #4
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    That site is rather limited, any of the 6600 GT's should be fine. My buddy has the http://www.atic.ca/index.php?page=LongDesc&sku=11712 and I watched him play FEAR & Battlefield 2 without a problem.

    Can you find a Nvidia 6800 cheap in Canada ? ATI should give all Canadians 50% off

  5. #5
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    I am currently running the 6600 pci-e. I had the 6800gt in my last system....both kick butt....the 6600 so far performs every bit as good as the 6800....both have 256mb onboard mem...I am sure the pci-e makes the difference with the 6600. U should be pleased with the 6600 dood....

  6. #6
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,101
    I'm running a 6600 GT in one machine and it is a good performer.However,in my XP 2800 Barton machine I am running a 9500 non-pro softmodded to a 9700 and playing the Serious Sam 2 game without any problems.I will try the game with the 6600 GT and A64 3000 machine when I get it back on line.The thing is the requirements on the game for graphics is for 6800 GT or better.The graphics look good now,so I'm anxious to see what the 6600 GT does for it.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    picked up a winfast 6600gt but locking up when trying to do 3dmark 2005

    computer not overclocked and still locking randomly during test

    did 3dmark 2001 and got a measly - 13459

    my old 9700 pro got 17,000 hmmmm

    nice card but think i need a new computer
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    330
    i know this sounds stupid but did u make sure to uninstall your old ati drivers before u installed your nvida ones because the 6600gt should beat the 9700pro

  9. #9
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    3D 2001 is CPU, system memory & buss speed dependent, can't compair 2 different GFX cards on different systems.

    His 9700 Pro was on a high end P4, his 6600 GT is on ?????????

    The lockup sounds like something is getting hot, maybe ?

    The 6600 GT should beat ATI 9800XT (not much), if both are tested on the same system....

  10. #10
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    it is the exact system here,
    http://www.techzonez.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8900

    I bought it back a while ago

    thread posted somewhere here.....

    anyway, I was able to get a 3dmark 2005 score and it was 3234

    I am off to download 3dmark 2003 ans see what happens

    thanks!
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  11. #11
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    it is the exact system here,
    http://www.techzonez.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8900

    I bought it back a while ago
    Then you're in trouble that 6600 GT should beat everything your 9700 did. You sure you have the GT ?

  12. #12
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    managed to get 16,342 in 2001

    in 2003 i got 8012

    getting better

    ------------------------------------------------------------



  13. #13
    Platinum+ Member bhxtyrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    729
    should feel lucky i bet my benchmarks are in the crapper with my old Radeon 9200 lol

  14. #14
    Member Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Arecibo, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    55
    Save a lil more and pick up a 6800gt!!!
    Its the best card for the money outthere.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •