Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: New system running

  1. #1
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045

    New system running

    Re: new specs here

    Got the new system assembled and running stable.

    Did however come across one issue that i couldn't resolve (gave up after many hours).

    The issue relates to a new Maxtor Diamondmax 10 200gb SATA 2 drive.

    After several attempts i finally got XP installed on it, but it just wouldn't get passed the black Windows screen (one with the blue left to right bar, pre desktop). In the end i gave up and replaced it with my old Diamondmax 9 200gb SATA 1 drive. Did a fresh install on that drive and its been running 100%. Also hooked up my old 80gb Maxtor ATA 133 that has all my backup stuff on it and that is running fine as well.

    I've since found out through various contacts and google searches that there is apparently a possible incompatibility with the nforce4 chipset, SATA 2 and maxtor drives, in particular the Diamondmax 10.

    Some users have fixed the issue by moving the drive jumper from SATA 2 to SATA 1, although that kind of defeats the purpose of buying a SATA 2 drive. However i will probably end up doing the same thing for now and use it for backup. Also there is reportedly an updated maxtor firmware that can fix the issue, but my drive already has the new firmware.

    Apart from the nforce issue i am impressed by the quality of the Asus board and the contents of the box.

    Audio quality from the X-Fi Fatal1ty is amazing.
    Last edited by Reverend; January 7th, 2006 at 23:20 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  2. #2
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    Sweet. The specs are to die for.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    A beast of a machine. Why not post some benchMarks, when you get a chance?

  4. #4
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,050
    Sweet!!

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    I've since found out through various contacts and google searches that there is apparently a possible incompatibility with the nforce4 chipset, SATA 2 and maxtor drives, in particular the Diamondmax 10.

    Some users have fixed the issue by moving the drive jumper from SATA 2 to SATA 1, although that kind of defeats the purpose of buying a SATA 2 drive.
    You won't lose any performance by moving the jumper (if that works). There isn't a drive made that can take full advantage of the SATA I interface, let alone SATA II's.

    So does your new system seem faster ?

  6. #6
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Hey Rev....u s**k man...lol...I want that sound card...give it to me NOW
    .....kick butt system dood...enjoy
    Last edited by PIPER; January 8th, 2006 at 10:10 AM.

  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,506
    very nice

    :drool:
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    You won't lose any performance by moving the jumper (if that works). There isn't a drive made that can take full advantage of the SATA I interface, let alone SATA II's.
    Yep that's right. My old Maxtor DMax 9 can reach a max of 120 out of a theoretical 150 from SATA I.

    Tried the DM 10 in SATA I, no go. Hard drives are so cheap over here now, i'll probably just cut my losses and stick with the current 200GB SATA and the 80GB ATA 133. That combo will keep me going for a while.

    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    So does your new system seem faster ?
    it is definately a lot faster.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  9. #9
    Platinum+ Member bhxtyrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    729
    Sounds awsome Rev,very nice system.Mind taking a pic of the fully assembled final results?

  10. #10
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,101
    Still waiting for the prices to come down on a x2 4200 Toledo,for my a64.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  11. #11
    Platinum+ Member z3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    619
    Hot damn Rev.

    Congrats, that's one pimped out ride.

    Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.~ Groucho

  12. #12
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Heres some pics.

    I took them a few days ago and have since replaced the stock AMD cooler with a Zalman CNPS9500 LED and replaced the Geforce 6800GS PCI-E cooler with a Zalman VF700-Cu

    Also added a Western Digital Caviar SE 200GB 2000JS SATA-II 8MB Cache HDD. And unlike the Maxtor Diamondmax 10 that i had probs with the WD was recognized straight away and is running in SATA2 mode.

    Full specs:

    Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Silver Aluminium Midi-Tower Case
    Enermax Noisetaker 600W PSU
    Asus A8N-SLi Premium nForce4 SLi
    AMD Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego (Zalman CNPS9500 LED cooler)
    Crucial 1GB (2x512MB) DDR PC3200 Ballistix
    200GB WD Caviar SE SATAII
    200GB Maxtor Diamondmax 9 SATAI
    80GB Maxtor Diamondmax ATA 133
    GeForce 6800 GS 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) (Zalman VF700-Cu cooler)
    Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS Edition
    NEC ND4551 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
    Sony CRX320E 52x32x52x16 CDRW/DVD
    Floppy Drive
    Samsung SM-930BF 19" LCD Monitor

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  13. #13
    Banned Aloone_Jonez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    58
    Wow the graphics card is proper hardcore.

    I just have a crappy old on board card with 8MB and only 256MB on the entire system.

    Not as hardcore as one of my friend's who has a 512MB graphics card can't remember the make/chipset though.

  14. #14
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    woah...Thanks fer postin pics. Dats da only way I'll ever see anythin like dat.

  15. #15
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Looks awesome Rev, are you used to the speed yet? Dual core soon perphaps?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •