Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: stop error (blue screen of death)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation stop error (blue screen of death)

    I have a stop error 0x000000ED and 0xc0000032 I can use a boot disk to get to the dos prompt but cannot switch the directory to the "c" drive everything I type I get the message the following command is missing or corrupted
    type the name of the command interpreture ( the file that is missing is what ever I type). Help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Blue Screen

    I did look at that article before posting ,The main problem that I have is that I can not switch the directory to type in the commands . It stays in my bootdisk which was loaded in A: . Whenever I type anything I get a message "file is missing or corrupt" and a "type the name of the command interpreture ".

    Am I missing a step ?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    I've rarely had luck recovering this from error. You can boot into Recovery Console using the Windows cd and try a chkdsk /r and see how that does.

    Good Luck...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Blue Screen

    One more thing I failed to mention was that this occured while in an idle state it was on when I left and had the bluescreen on return also the safe mode does not work . Just some additional information to get my B.Gates boat anchor working .

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4
    thanks for the reply Rik.

    I think I still need to change the directory to the c : drive to run chkdsk/r right ? It will not let me type anything in the dos prompt ( I booted with a floppy in A: and that is where it sits with the above error messages) also my HP did not come with a Disk only has back up info on a partion on the hard drive. Going from bad to worse I'm afraid

    thanks again
    Last edited by rjtfw35; February 14th, 2006 at 01:44 AM.

  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Yeah, You will need a Windows cd to be able to run Recovery Console. Unless HP put it on the hard drive which I doubt. Are you running XP or 2000?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •