Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: norton security popups

  1. #1
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702

    norton security popups

    ...are pissing me off. Other than disabling internet worm protection, is there any way to turn off those permit/block non-virus/trojan messages? I thought of setting everything related to my firewall to automatic, but there's no such setting I can find.

    The firewall is the local app I get all those messages about, and IT'S A FIREWALL! It can block things itself w/o annoying me.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Open Norton and click on options. In the Internet Worm Protection settings click the Program Control button and configure it to "Permit All" for your firewall. (if the firewall is not already in the list, browse to the exe file using the add button)

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    It's already configured that way. I just turned off the worm protection. That shut the damned thing up.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  4. #4
    Bronze Member bionicblond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    155
    my Norton refuses to work correctly...I can't register it because it wont like go to the website. It is weird, on the website they have had people with this problem and the last time I checked they said basically to unistall and then reinstall, this is especially frustrating if it doesn't want to finish the install. It gets halfway through and stops gives some bs error message. The way it is on and working now is because I had to copy certain files that just wouldn't install from my (store bought) disk. Incidentally this will be the last time I purchase Norton Antivirus. I have Grisoft running now in addition to whatever Norton may be doing. In my windows explorer tab it shows that it is running, I hope it is doing more than just using resources.
    Knowledge indeed is power;
    Wisdom is knowing whether or not to act on Knowledge.

    Speech is
    silver,but silence is golden.....
    Blondie

  5. #5
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Remove the firewall from the list. Then restart your connection and when the pop up returns for the first time select the permit option.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  6. #6
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by bionicblond
    I have Grisoft running now in addition to whatever Norton may be doing. In my windows explorer tab it shows that it is running, I hope it is doing more than just using resources.
    You shouldn't have two AV's running at the same time, its a wonder you aren't having more problems....

    Uninstall AVG and see if things get better.

  7. #7
    Banned adeydas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Some parallel universe
    Posts
    109
    I use ZoneAlarm Security Suite and it works pretty well. It too has some annonying pop-ups but its not as bad as the above.

  8. #8
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    Click Control Panel-->Add/Remove Programs
    Find everything 'Norton' and click Uninstall

    Hey Presto your computer is now 3 times as fast as it used to be.

    Now install Avast Antivirus Home edition (it's free) and turn on the Windows Firewall.

    Not only is it three times faster it's now better protected too!
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  9. #9
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Curio
    Click Control Panel-->Add/Remove Programs
    Find everything 'Norton' and click Uninstall

    Hey Presto your computer is now 3 times as fast as it used to be.

    Now install Avast Antivirus Home edition (it's free) and turn on the Windows Firewall.

    Not only is it three times faster it's now better protected too!
    Ha-ha! I wanted to ask what were they doing using Norton!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •