Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Isn't alt + PrtSc supposed to capture only the active window?

  1. #1
    Triple Platinum Member wumply's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Belmont, NH
    Posts
    785

    Isn't alt + PrtSc supposed to capture only the active window?

    It is NOT doing that for me. PrtSc works fine; it captures everything on my monitor. Now let's say I have on my monitor the Control Panel window and on top of that a small pop-up. If I click alt + PrtSc, everything on the monitor is still captured, not just the small pop-up. Hitting alt + PrtSc together or sequentially;the entire monitor was still captured.

    Interestingly, if I hit Ctrl, Altl and Delete simultaneously I DO get the Task Manager Window.

    What corrective actions(s) can I take?
    I've created my own website...a collection of moving, sad and happy and humorous poems which I would like to share with others. They come from stories my dad used to tell me when I was a kid. If you could glance at my site and if you know of others who might enjoy it and perhaps tell them of it, I would be most appreciative. Thank you. The address is www.metrocast.net/~wumply/exper-1.html

  2. #2
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    yeah that is the correct key combo. alt-prt scrn. just tried it by pressing alt holding it down and pressing prt scrn then just the active print screen is captured.



  3. #3
    Triple Platinum Member wumply's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Belmont, NH
    Posts
    785
    I tried it your way, Phish and that DID it. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,041
    Quote Originally Posted by wumply
    I tried it your way, Phish and that DID it. Thanks.
    As phish said, for Alt+ commands you have to hold the Alt key down.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    no problemo...glad it worked out for ya.



  6. #6
    Member ashish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    79
    wow.. i actually did not know that... cool :P
    Cheers,
    Bringing The Humanity Back Into Computing

  7. #7
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Quote Originally Posted by ashish
    wow.. i actually did not know that... cool :P

  8. #8
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Piper, ashish is prolly referring to print screen only for the application... not that most window key shortcuts you need to press both (or 3) keys simultaneously

    but i agree it did sound funny.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  9. #9
    Member ashish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    79
    thanks cash_site.. that is exactly what i meant to say
    although now when i look at it.. it definitely does sound very funny
    Cheers,
    Bringing The Humanity Back Into Computing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •