Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VPN trouble

VPN trouble

Dear all,
    I am currently a junior administrator and currently having a spot of bother connecting through a vpn connection to our new server as the error messge tells me it is not able to connect.

I have enabled remote connection but still cant set up a network place for it. The router is the netgear dg834g and i am using server 2003 but i think i must have a slight configration problem on the router side of things.

Please help

Sam

Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    are you trying to vpn in to your server or are you using RDP and logging in using terminal server sessions. Are you port forwarding to the correct ip address to the server. just a few things to check.

no i am trying to vpn into the server which i believed was a case of opening a connection and tapping in the isp provided ip address. will check it out today and let you know how i am going.

Is there anything else i should be trying?

if its the isp's IP address then is the server outside the network like a DMZ server...if not then you will need to portforward to that servers ip address within the subnet.

Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    There are few things to check... Firewall (ISA2004), port forwarding on Router, Domain name or IP lookup. GPO settings for user remote access...

--- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Still trying to set up a connection into the server and i thought i would give you a little more info. If i use remote desktop and the ip address i get a pc that is out of our domain but in the building, but if i try to set up a vpn then i get an error721.

i have configured the WAN side to the router to

D/G 100.100.100.1

and the LAN is standard but i cant seem to get the router to let me in.Is this the router firewalling me? how do i port forward? any ideas?

OK... im sure there are plenty of guides online... but: