Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BIOS Settings Reset After Power Outage Or Shutting Power Supply

  1. #1
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229

    BIOS Settings Reset After Power Outage Or Shutting Power Supply

    Recently my BIOS forgets all of its settings if I turn the Power Supply off or if there's a power outage and my UPS runs out of battery power. I already bought a new CMOS battery and replaced the old one but it didn't help. Any ideas would be welcome.

  2. #2
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Check that the power plug is correctly mounted on the motherboard, and that its getting the correct 5volts etc... i think the CMOS gets charged or at least monitor when powered??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  3. #3
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    what brand of MoBo do you have?.....I had a similar issuse with an Ecs board that a flash of the bios corrected the problem.....hated to do it, but after trying all other tricks if you will I finally threw up my hands and went for the flash.

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    It's an Asus P4P800. It only started doing this recently.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Do you use AI Booster? Is it possible that it might be messing with the BIOS config?

  6. #6
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    Do you use AI Booster? Is it possible that it might be messing with the BIOS config?
    Nope, never used AI Booster.

  7. #7
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    The little metal retaining clip on the battery holder must be defective, it needs to touch the battery and hold the battery down tight on the contacts.

    Check it out and maybe try little piece of metal foil as shim.

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    The little metal retaining clip on the battery holder must be defective, it needs to touch the battery and hold the battery down tight on the contacts.

    Check it out and maybe try little piece of metal foil as shim.
    Thanks will try that.

  9. #9
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Well I hope that works..

    My surf box (ASUS-INTEL) has been like that for years and I've never found a fix (must be bad MB or bios chip ), it doesn't matter if bios is default for what I do with this PC.

    In your case that would be a bummer, all those tweaked settings gone....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •