Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Can not access second Physical drive in XP

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24

    hard drive access issue in XP

    i had 2 hard drives C and F on my PC with XP operating system.
    I can not access drive F now .
    any help to fix this and to retrieve data on my drive F will be highly appreciated.
    PSD

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Welcome PSD.
    Could you post the exact access error message.
    Is the drive recognized in "my computer" and device manager?

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    what os is on f:

    is drive c: ntfs?
    is drive f: ntfs?
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Check that the power and ide cable connections of that drive are firmly in place.

  5. #5
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    follow Conan's suggestion,if you still have the problem after checking the cables then there is a strong possibility that the hard drive may be faulty.
    How old is the HDD?

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24

    Can not access second Physical drive in XP

    Thanks for recent replies to help me out. when I click on drive F in my computer i get the following message
    F:\ is not accessible
    Error performing inpage operation.

    It was working till friday but stopped working suddenly.
    Thanks for the help

    Originally posted by Conan
    Check that the power and ide cable connections of that drive are firmly in place.
    I am a Novice and do not know how to do it , but I guess cable is in place.

    Originally posted by egghead
    what os is on f:

    is drive c: ntfs?
    is drive f: ntfs?
    No OS on F , XP on C
    Both NFTS and were working till friday aug 17th

    Threads have been merged.
    Last edited by Reverend; August 26th, 2002 at 00:39 AM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by Reverend
    follow Conan's suggestion,if you still have the problem after checking the cables then there is a strong possibility that the hard drive may be faulty.
    How old is the HDD?
    HD is fairly new for 20 GIGs and drive C is 60 GIGs.

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Well it looks to me like a trip to the computer repair shop would be in order. Is it a Branded PC or a custom built one?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by Reverend
    Welcome PSD.
    Could you post the exact access error message.
    Is the drive recognized in "my computer" and device manager?
    the exact error message is
    F:/ is not accessible
    Error performing inpage operation
    Yes the drive is recognized in my computer and device manager.
    and was working OK till friday PM

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by Conan
    Well it looks to me like a trip to the computer repair shop would be in order. Is it a Branded PC or a custom built one?
    generic one !!!!!

  11. #11
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Then I would bring it back to where you bought it, if that is not possible then a trip to a reputable PC repair shop would be the best bet.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by Conan
    Then I would bring it back to where you bought it, if that is not possible then a trip to a reputable PC repair shop would be the best bet.
    Thanks - that is always the choice but a bit of a hassle in taking the CPU out.
    Was hoping to have some suggestions from this forum.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    What Conan suggests seems like the logical option. Though below are somethings you can try.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...EN-US;Q141117&

    There is a notice about the error you are receiving. It would seem that your drive is messed up, though it could mean that you just lost all the data on the drive and you have to reformat...

    If you dont mind losing the data, simply right click the drive and hit the format. Choose NTFS and it should work for you.

    If the data is worth more than 1000 US, I would recommend a professional data recovery option. If not, reformat then get to collecting new data.

    ANd welcome to techzonez.
    BB

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24
    I can not reformat this drive and have tried several times.
    I also see this message " Incorrect parameter " when I click on Drive F - says can not aceess - incorrect parameter.
    I do not have expensive data except some music files
    Thanks


    QUOTE]Originally posted by Big Booger
    What Conan suggests seems like the logical option. Though below are somethings you can try.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...EN-US;Q141117&

    There is a notice about the error you are receiving. It would seem that your drive is messed up, though it could mean that you just lost all the data on the drive and you have to reformat...

    If you dont mind losing the data, simply right click the drive and hit the format. Choose NTFS and it should work for you.

    If the data is worth more than 1000 US, I would recommend a professional data recovery option. If not, reformat then get to collecting new data.

    ANd welcome to techzonez.
    BB
    [/QUOTE]

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    24
    Thanks for your welcome message !!!!!!



    Originally posted by PSD
    I can not reformat this drive and have tried several times.
    I also see this message " Incorrect parameter " when I click on Drive F - says can not aceess - incorrect parameter.
    I do not have expensive data except some music files
    Thanks


    QUOTE]Originally posted by Big Booger
    What Conan suggests seems like the logical option. Though below are somethings you can try.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...EN-US;Q141117&

    There is a notice about the error you are receiving. It would seem that your drive is messed up, though it could mean that you just lost all the data on the drive and you have to reformat...

    If you dont mind losing the data, simply right click the drive and hit the format. Choose NTFS and it should work for you.

    If the data is worth more than 1000 US, I would recommend a professional data recovery option. If not, reformat then get to collecting new data.

    ANd welcome to techzonez.
    BB
    [/QUOTE]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •