Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Populate Host File

  1. #1
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,321

    Populate Host File

    Today I caught up on some podcasts. Episode 45, Security Now with Leo Laporte and Steve Gibson dealt with something that I had never before been exposed to. That was the Host file. In XP, it is located in Windows>system32>drivers>etc. It can be opened with Wordpad. It should look like this:

    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    You can add sites here. There are databases available that contain many of the malicious sites on the net. Here is one. LINK

    I performed a copy and paste of the link into the Host file.

    Steve explained what this does as follows: While browsing you encounter imbeded code that results in a diversion to, let's say doubleclick.com. Some times you may hang while the browser attempts to connect with doubleclick before it connects with the site you intended. If that file is listed in the host file, it does not attempt the doubleclick connection. This has two benefits. One, the code we hate is bypassed. The second, browsing is faster.

    Caution: Make a copy of the Host file before you try this. This is not a tweak for the novice.

    Links:
    Link1
    Link2

  2. #2
    Junior Member Nicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    23
    I worked with host files a bit and I just want to thank you for the links they came in handy , I needed it for my work you are a lifesaver man thank.

  3. #3
    Old, Cranky and Perverted Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,687
    Good Post efc

  4. #4
    Junior Member Nicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    23
    The real reason that I used the host file for is to add url's on it that I didn't want to use the ip but the name , because when your in a network and the site that you want to visit is on the network you must use the IP and when the ip and the name is in the host file you can use either.

  5. #5
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,321
    Found an easier way to accomplish this. When SpyBot Search and Destroy is run in Advanced Mode you can access the Tools section. In it there is an icon for the Host File and a button to Add the S&D host list.

  6. #6
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    yeah, i use Spybot host file very handy... many entries... no probs so far!

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •