Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HP Pavilion ZE5700 dead in Outer Mongolia

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    (Deep in the wilds of) Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    83

    HP Pavilion ZE5700 dead in Outer Mongolia

    This message from my friends working in Outer Mongolia...



    "Do you know what I did ? Well, in an unthinking moment I plugged the external hard drive's power supply into the mouse socket. Now our computer totally doesn't work at all. The computer service centre says it needs a new mother board but they can't get our pavilion model's mother board in China because it was a model only sold in UK and US."

    I looked on the HP UK website and it says that the motherboard is not available.

    Does anyone know if there is an alternate replacement?

    I suspect that possibly more than the motherboard could be fried Is it worth trying to repair this laptop??

    Any help appreciated. They are lost without the data on the laptop. I suggested that they buy a new one but it means a trip to China or Russia to get one. If I can source a motherboard in the UK I would be able to ship it to them.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member Tanglefoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    171
    Have you done a search for make and model number on google? Even if it is a generic it must have been supplied by a MOBO maker. If you can find out it's 'variant' that was supplied to mass market then you could hopefully source a replacement.
    If you are lucky an e-bay search may turn it up for peanuts.
    Best of luck.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    (Deep in the wilds of) Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    83
    Yes, tried ebay etc. No luck whatsoever. The exact model is

    HP Pavilion ZE 5702ea

  4. #4
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    You can try this site to see if they can help you......bummer situation.

    http://www.pcfactoryoutlet.com/defau...rce=&StoreID=7

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ayphotohosting

    Not the exact motherboard but it should work. Rather pricey... they'd be better off buying a new Laptop and having you ship it to them.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    (Deep in the wilds of) Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger View Post
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ayphotohosting

    Not the exact motherboard but it should work. Rather pricey... they'd be better off buying a new Laptop and having you ship it to them.
    Thanks for the link and yes I am quickly coming to the same conclusion.....

    Thanks anyway

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •