Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Crossover cable and Network prob

  1. #1
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406

    Crossover cable and Network prob

    I need your help guys. A friend asked me for help (and I am asking you now) in order to conect 2 PCs together. The idea was to use a crossover cable, since he uses Dial up in one PC, and the other would be in order to play linked. But we cannot make both PCs comunicate with each other. I know I am forgetting to do something, but I don't know what is it. Can someone give me a hand??

  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    i know no one has answered you so i will give you this link so you can double check your settings

    also make sure you use the right cable or you will need a hub

    http://www.dslwebserver.com/main/fr_...ver-cable.html

    egghead

    someone will help you
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    TKS egghead.
    I was using a orssover cable for sure, and I know the cable is OK, because I tested it. I will check that site
    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    I looked at that site. It explains pretty good, but I am almost sure we did all this. After we can finally get a connection between PCs we were also thinking to allow to share Internet access, though we weren't sure if we could do it, since my friend only has Dial up. Any ideas for this???
    Also if you find more resources where I can look I will appreciate it. I did a search, and I ended up in some places usefull, and some were a waste of time (most were a waste of time), and since I am studying and workng I don't have much time to wonder around the web, so i recurre to the expertise of this forum
    Maybe someone actually run into something similar in their lives.

  5. #5
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Try this site. It will use USB or Parallel to suet your needs.......
    Last edited by Tinker; September 4th, 2002 at 02:48 AM.

  6. #6
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    The solution seems simple, but I need to buy it
    The point of the experience is to get it to work by ourselves.
    Besides the friend I am working with, is in Argentina, and this adds a lot of reasons to want it to get it work this way.......(If you want I can explain them, but now I am sleepy )
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •