Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: My Windows DEFRAGMENTATION application doesn't work. - [FIXED]

  1. #1
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621

    Question My Windows DEFRAGMENTATION application doesn't work. - [FIXED]

    I installed Diskeeper. I enabled the Check Disk option. It would not check

    disk. It would not let me Defragment because it has to Check Disk 1st. I

    uninstalled Diskeeper. I tried to defragment with the Windows

    defragmentation application. It won't let me defragment. I get a box that

    says I have to Check disk 1st. Diskeeper must have put something in my

    registry. I tried a system restore & a sfc /scannow with the Windows CD. It

    still doesn't work. Here's a picture of the message that I get.



    Any advice?

    Thanks
    Last edited by veronica; September 8th, 2006 at 11:50 AM. Reason: attached picture

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Have you restarted the system?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Have you tried it in safemode?

  4. #4
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by rik View Post
    Have you restarted the system?
    Yes

  5. #5
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger View Post
    Have you tried it in safemode?
    No. I'll try now.

    Thank you both for answering.

  6. #6
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    It seems to get stuck in safe mode, on drivers.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    mmm.... I'd try booting into the recovery console and run a check disk from there.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314058/

    Once into the recovery console, run the command:
    chkdsk

    And that should check the disk for errors.

    To repair and fix any errors use the:

    chkdsk /R /F

    http://www.pegasus-afs.com/eSupport/using_CHKDSK.htm


    Try that first and see if you can get rid of the errors related to chkdsk...

    Disk errors can be indicative of a failing hard drive... (just to be safe I would back up anything very important)... but it's probably not failing!

  8. #8
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    What Big said worked.

    Thank you all very much.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica View Post
    What Big said worked.

    Thank you all very much.
    Glad it is solved!

  10. #10
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger View Post
    mmm.... I'd try booting into the recovery console and run a check disk from there.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314058/

    Once into the recovery console, run the command:
    chkdsk

    And that should check the disk for errors.

    To repair and fix any errors use the:

    chkdsk /R /F

    http://www.pegasus-afs.com/eSupport/using_CHKDSK.htm


    Try that first and see if you can get rid of the errors related to chkdsk...

    Disk errors can be indicative of a failing hard drive... (just to be safe I would back up anything very important)... but it's probably not failing!
    I did this. It said the volume had errors. It said it fixed them. I ran the

    CHKDSK a couple days later. It found errors again & fixed them. Do you think

    my hard drive is failing? I have my PC on about 12 hours a day. My PC is

    under 4 years old.

    Thank you all for replying.

  11. #11
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    if its a maxtor then I'd say yes...it is possible. I usually keep my pc on 24/7 and just turn off the monitor. hardware will usually fail on start up. you might want to start backing up your personal data on cds just incase.



  12. #12
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Thank you for replying.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •