Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46

Thread: Ok Vista beta testers-question ?

  1. #1
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333

    Ok Vista beta testers-question ?

    Do you like Vista ? Hows the PC running ? Is it better than XP ? You going to use Vista when its released or stick with XP ?

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    1) not really

    2) seems to run ok with 1gb RAM

    3) Better? not to me. Only thing I REALLY like is the Snipping Tool. It ROCKS!

    4) I'll not be running it at home. XP and my Linux distros are doing just fine.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    1) It's a yes and no. I like some things about it, but not all.

    2) I have it running on a PIII 1ghz with 512MB ram, and it runs fine.

    3) Better, I dunno. I say it is different. The interface is getting changed. I like how they do "All Programs" and the control panel. It seems to work better amongst other things.

    4) If I can get a cheap version, OEM or educational etc.. I will switch otherwise XP and Xandros all the way.

  4. #4
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    1, 3 and 4: Yup. It's faster and more nimble.
    2: Just fine.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    I'm still up in the air. Looks cool but think theres alittle to much fluff. Let you know more when I get use to where everything is.



  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    260
    A: Are you guys using Aero in your evaluations?
    B: What is the "snipping tool"?

  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638

  8. #8
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    How do I access it? I found the executable buried in C:\windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-tabletpc-snippingtool_31bf3856ad364e35_6.0.5744.16384_none_e34198ab18ab8a06. But it just lays there like a dead fish. Do I need a tablet pc to run it?

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  9. #9
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,040
    1. Yes.
    2. Running fine (with aero).
    3. Too soon to say.
    4. Driver availability is still a bit thin so i will continue to dual-boot with XP.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  10. #10
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,040
    Quote Originally Posted by piaqt View Post
    How do I access it?
    Should be under Start > Programs > Accessories.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #11
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    1. Yes, what's not to like?
    2. Fine
    3. Yes
    4. I use lots of OSes.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    I wasn't using Aero as my graphics card a TI4200 doesn't support it on my old PIII machine.

    What's not to like? I think Vista is much slower on older hardware. The constant popups that require you to click a button before making changes to the system are annoying (you can disable this, but it's still annoying)... That said it is a "security feature" so perhaps this annoyance will be worth it.

    As Reverend stated, driver support isn't as good as XP, software support is also suffering (though software makers are rushing out beta Vista versions).

    For reference of troubles:

    http://www.iexbeta.com/wiki/index.ph...atibility_List

    There are bugs as well, but then this is still Beta software.

    Vista just looks like a reworked or refined XP. It will take time to get used to some of the changes. Like how the control panel is layed out, how to change some settings, access features and so on. But it is not so dramatic that you'll cringe in fear.

    One other gripe I had was with the shutdown. I have had the habit of clicking the lock button for shutdown, but in Vista it puts your PC to sleep instead. You have to click another right arrow list button to pull out the expanded shutdown options, and there you click shutdown to completely shutdown the machine. I don't like that. It's like Microsoft want you to put your machine to sleep rather than completely shut it down....

  13. #13
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    Quote Originally Posted by Reverend View Post
    Should be under Start > Programs > Accessories.
    I checked under Windows Features. It wasn't installed. Oops.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  14. #14
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    All OSes are much slower on older hardware. All software has bugs. Every time an OS is released it doesn't support all legacy soft or hardware. It's the same thing every time, usually there are good reasons for this like increased security or functions. Reworked XP, like XP was reworked 2000, like 2000 was reworked NT? I don't understand your misgivings.
    I'm using Windows 7 - you got a problem with that?

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Quote Originally Posted by Curio View Post
    All OSes are much slower on older hardware. All software has bugs. Every time an OS is released it doesn't support all legacy soft or hardware. It's the same thing every time, usually there are good reasons for this like increased security or functions. Reworked XP, like XP was reworked 2000, like 2000 was reworked NT? I don't understand your misgivings.

    WINDOWS 2000
    Minimum Requirements
    Computer/Processor 133 MHz or higher Pentium-compatible CPU.
    Memory At least 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM; more memory generally improves responsiveness.
    Hard Disk 2 GB with 650 MB free space.
    CPU Support Windows 2000 Professional supports single and dual CPU systems.
    Drive CD-ROM or DVD drive.
    Display VGA or higher resolution monitor.
    Keyboard Required.
    WINDOWS XP PRO
    Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional


    PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended


    128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)


    1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*


    Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor


    CD-ROM or DVD drive


    Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

    WINDOWS VISTA
    Windows Vista Minimum Supported System Requirements
    Processor
    800 MHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor1
    System Memory
    512 MB
    GPU
    SVGA (800x600)
    Graphics Memory
    -
    HDD
    20 GB
    HDD Free Space
    15 GB
    Optical Drive
    CD-ROM drive2
    Audio
    -
    Internet
    -
    That's quite a jump. And that's the bare minimum.

    How do you go from 1.5 GB of hard disk space to 15GB???? And from 128MB of ram to 512MB???? And from a processor speed of 233mhz to 800mhz????

    Please tell me why an Operating System needs 15GB of space? And at the bare minimum you don't get the aero effects as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •