Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: INSTALL WINDOWS XP on two HDDs within the same system

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    INSTALL WINDOWS XP on two HDDs within the same system

    THIS IS NOT A TECHZONEZ EXCLUSIVE hehehe
    I attempted to install windows XP on a second HDD as a dual boot so I could test it out. It worked great. Now when my machine boots, I have the option of selection between two XP installations, the bottom being the older XP installation and the top being the newer. I suppose, if you have more than two you could even triple boot it. That way if one installation goes bad you have a second or third to boot into. I also have access to all the files on all the HDDs within my two installations. It is very convenient and easy to do. Simply install as you normally would, just select the second HDD as your installation point. XP does the rest.
    Works great. Any questions just ask.
    BB
    Last edited by Big Booger; September 15th, 2002 at 14:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Sorry Boogs,i sort of beat you to it.

    A couple of days ago I split my 80gig into two 40 gig partitions using Partition Magic.
    I kept my original XP installation (without SP1) on one partition,and installed my XP SP1 slipstreamed on the other.
    The reason i went for a dual boot was so that i could see how stable the SP1 version is.

    BTW,i also edited the boot.ini so that the older version is the first one on the boot option.

    Works like a charm.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Well now you all know. This works a treat. And thanks for letting me know about the boot.ini tweak. I wonder if three is possible...
    hehehe
    BB

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    I think the only limit on the number of installations would be how many Drive letters you have available.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    110

    Re: INSTALL WINDOWS XP on two HDDs within the same system

    Originally posted by Big Booger
    THIS IS A TECHZONEZ EXCLUSIVE AFAIK
    You heard it here first!

    I attempted to install windows XP on a second HDD as a dual boot so I could test it out.
    I've got 2 copies of XP, plus Win2K all on one disk:

    http://www.connectix.com/products/vpc5w.html

    I use the 'virtual' XP for checking progs out, etc. When it's shutdown I have the option of saving or discarding any changes. Great proggy

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I stand corrected. I will edit the post, but really I haven't seen anyone discuss this on this board until now...
    hehehe
    I mean I always knew you could dual boot different OSes, but 2 of the same, I thought the Boot.ini file would get confused hehehe
    guess not.
    BB

  7. #7
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Originally posted by Big Booger
    I stand corrected. I will edit the post, but really I haven't seen anyone discuss this on this board until now.
    http://www.techzonez.com/forums/show...&threadid=1650

    Ok now that you've used both your Left & Right foot...hehe...J/K ya BB

    Works great

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    That is pro and home FG hehehe
    I was talking about two versions of PRO only. But yeah in theory it applies the same way. Reverend even has it on the same drive just separate partitions, which again call me a moron, I didn't know you could do...
    I even searched on google before posting it.
    I am a lamer...
    HEHHE
    BB

  9. #9
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Boogs no need to be so hard on yourself.

    Moron or Lamer,either one will suffice.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •