Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: NIC Tweak

  1. #1
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064

    NIC Tweak

    Here is old tip but one that works very well if you have the right NIC. I upgrade my NIC to a Linksys NC-100 and the reason for this is it will stand alone from the CPU. The cost of the card was $20 (USD) and the Linksys LNE 100TX was on sale for $5.

    The advantage here is that the NC-100 will do bus mastering and run independent of the CPU. Bus mastering is a way for devices on the PCI bus to talk to other devices in you system without going through the CPU. This will free up your CPU to do other tasks and reduce latency from say the NIC to your video card.

    Big Booger has been testing with me and he sees about a 10% increase on graphics from the net. I am seeing about a 30% increase using PCPitstop as my benchmark.

    Here is the Reg tweak……

    Some of the new Network cards ( I know one from 3COM has it) do provide capabilities of offloading some of the network protocol functionality like checksum from CPU. This is helpful since its free your CPU time and in a nutshell increases the CPU response time and overall speed by allowing CPU to do other jobs. It may not work on all cards of some of the cheap models but nothing wrong in giving it a try. To implement this tip, do as follows:

    Navigate to [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters] and look for the data key "DisableTaskOffload" and set its value to 0 to enable the task offload. By default if key is present, its set to 1 to disable the task off load. If this tweak does not have desired effect, you can change it back to 1.
    For those who want to know more, Microsoft has an article on it.


    Source: XPTuneup


    Give it a try and post you feedback please………
    Last edited by Tinker; September 15th, 2002 at 08:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    As Tinker said, it works. Give it a try, its worth it.
    10% increase here.
    BB

  3. #3
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    No "DisableTaskOffload" key present in my system.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    YOu might have to create a new Dword value in the [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters]
    registry entry, then set it to 0

  5. #5
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Originally posted by Conan
    No "DisableTaskOffload" key present in my system.
    You can add this key manually if it is not present..

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    4

    It's not there :(

    I don't even have the "services" folder under controlset...
    TC

  7. #7
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    I think you are in the wrong place. Looks to me like you are in HKEY_CURRENT_USER and you should be in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
    Last edited by Tinker; September 21st, 2002 at 23:59 PM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    4
    Nope... it's just not there. But it's not the first reg folder in XP I have discovered is not there. Have yet to check my Pro buid, but it's not in Home edition.
    TC

  9. #9
    Member Jackpot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    66
    Well, I didn't have DisableTaskOffload in... [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters]

    So i created a New Dword like BB mentioned and set it to "0".
    Running WinXP Pro on my system, and havn't rebooted yet, so i'll
    let you know my results if i'm able to get
    back into Windows... HAHA!


    Thanks Tinker for this tweak, and your additions also Big Booger!

    Regards,
    Jackpot

    Well.... all went fine and it seems to have purked
    up my nic.


    Thanks again guys

    -JP
    Last edited by Jackpot; October 9th, 2002 at 10:19 AM.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    Talking

    glad to have helped.
    BB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •