Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: messenger loads before network adapter

  1. #1
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702

    messenger loads before network adapter

    At startup, messenger loads and tries to connect BEFORE the network icon displays in the systray. I have a wireless network adapter for a cable modem. Is there any way to get the network connection loaded before messenger? I'm tired of those "can't sign in" messages.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Is there any specific reason why you want Messenger to load at startup?

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    Email.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Yes the network adapter is slow to load on Vista compared to XP.

  5. #5
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    So just live with it?

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  6. #6
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by piaqt View Post
    So just live with it?
    How much memory are you running?

  7. #7
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Also, what type of Wireless card to you have.. 3rd party applications try loading in different orders.. try setting the card/application to be WIndows Managed. This way it gets loaded when the System Services load i.e. before the HKLM->RUN registry key

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  8. #8
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    Conan: 2 gigs
    Cash: it is windows-managed
    Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    I don't use Intel's software. Windows managed is less of a headache.

    Where do system services load from?

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Check the control panel for the services app. See what the MSN messenger service status is.. ie. for startup - automatic or manual etc. does Vista have a msconfig.msc application? try disabling stuff to see which order things are loaded.

    else sorry.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    I just installed Vista Business upgrade on my dad's PC yesterday and guess what, the network adapter loads pretty quick and I also didn't have to install sound nor network card drivers, Windows recognized them immediately!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •