Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: VISTA-BOOTMGR MISSING - Can't Install [FIXED]

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    64

    VISTA-BOOTMGR MISSING - Can't Install [FIXED]

    Hello,

    I just recently built a system and went to install VISTA-32 bit. Brand new hard drive.
    1. I stopped install, since it wouldn't let me format drive. Unsure why.
    2. Since I stopped, I was unable to restart or enter the VISTA program.
    ERROR MSG: BOOTMGR IS MISSING.
    3. Unable to resolve this. I unable to even into VISTA or the repair console.
    4. I tested a new disk, and with a new disk, I can still install VISTA.

    Any solution for this? Basically, myh 250GB drive is now imprinted with some component of VISTA, and until this is corrected, I can't do anything. Comments and suggestions welcome.

    Thx!

    Scott
    Core2 2.40GHz, 1066 FSB; MSI 975X Platinum V.2 975X , BIOS 7.5; 4x1GB Corsair DDR2-800; 600W Zalman Heatpipe; 1x250 GB Seagate SATA-2 + 2x750 GB Seagate SATA-2, RAID1 + 1x 750GB Seagate SATA-2; 2x SONY DRU-830A DVD/CD Combo; MSI GeForce 8600 GTS; Samsung 245BW; VISTA-Ultimate

  2. #2
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    This was written for XP, but should work for Vista as well.

    Wipe an NTFS hard drive by using the Recovery Console on the XP CD. To use the Recovery Console to reformat a drive:

    Press F2 to go into your BIOS to change the boot sequence to make your CD-ROM drive your primary boot device.
    Boot from CD
    After all the drivers have loaded (shown along the bottom), press F10 or wait and choose the recovery console (item #2).
    In the "Recovery Console" (http://support.microsoft.com/default...B;en-us;314058), specify the appropriate Windows installation. If you have never assigned a password, just hit ENTER. To turn off the password prompt: http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;312149.
    Next, type: map and hit ENTER. Note the drive that you want to reformat. The drive letters may be different in the Recovery Console from what they are in Windows, but to reformat the C: drive, it's likely the largest.
    Next, type: format C: /fs:ntfs and hit ENTER. Type: y, then ENTER to continue. When the formatting process is finished, type exit and then press ENTER to reboot.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    64
    I was considering this exact option. Will try and see what happens; thx!

    Scott
    Core2 2.40GHz, 1066 FSB; MSI 975X Platinum V.2 975X , BIOS 7.5; 4x1GB Corsair DDR2-800; 600W Zalman Heatpipe; 1x250 GB Seagate SATA-2 + 2x750 GB Seagate SATA-2, RAID1 + 1x 750GB Seagate SATA-2; 2x SONY DRU-830A DVD/CD Combo; MSI GeForce 8600 GTS; Samsung 245BW; VISTA-Ultimate

  4. #4
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702
    Mazel tov, bonne chance, and all like that.

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    64

    Now NTDLR is Missing

    OK...followed instructions above; all went well until I tried to reinstall, at which time I now get "NTLDR is Missing". Hmmmm.
    Core2 2.40GHz, 1066 FSB; MSI 975X Platinum V.2 975X , BIOS 7.5; 4x1GB Corsair DDR2-800; 600W Zalman Heatpipe; 1x250 GB Seagate SATA-2 + 2x750 GB Seagate SATA-2, RAID1 + 1x 750GB Seagate SATA-2; 2x SONY DRU-830A DVD/CD Combo; MSI GeForce 8600 GTS; Samsung 245BW; VISTA-Ultimate

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    64

    RAID Setup Needs to be Fixed 1st

    FYI.

    I am working through the abobe problem. Most of my problem seems to be resulting because I haven't setup the BIOS/RAID correctly, to support my SATA drive. I am working thru this issue and will report back. Thx.
    Core2 2.40GHz, 1066 FSB; MSI 975X Platinum V.2 975X , BIOS 7.5; 4x1GB Corsair DDR2-800; 600W Zalman Heatpipe; 1x250 GB Seagate SATA-2 + 2x750 GB Seagate SATA-2, RAID1 + 1x 750GB Seagate SATA-2; 2x SONY DRU-830A DVD/CD Combo; MSI GeForce 8600 GTS; Samsung 245BW; VISTA-Ultimate

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    64
    I just recently built a system and went to install VISTA-32 bit. Brand new hard drive.
    1. I stopped install, since it wouldn't let me format drive. Unsure why.
    2. Since I stopped, I was unable to restart or enter the VISTA program.
    ERROR MSG: BOOTMGR IS MISSING.
    Thx for the help and suggestion for formatting; this was necessary as VISTA wouldn't format my drive. The other problems I created: I had incorrect BIOS settings, given that I was trying to RAID1 with a MSI board at startup. I corrected the BIOS settings and apart from the "manual" format, I got the system up and running.
    -MSI 875X PUE
    -4 GB RAM, 2.4 GHz Intel CONROE
    -4 SATA drives, 2 in a RAID1
    -VISTA-Ultimate.

    Thx for the help.

    Scott
    Core2 2.40GHz, 1066 FSB; MSI 975X Platinum V.2 975X , BIOS 7.5; 4x1GB Corsair DDR2-800; 600W Zalman Heatpipe; 1x250 GB Seagate SATA-2 + 2x750 GB Seagate SATA-2, RAID1 + 1x 750GB Seagate SATA-2; 2x SONY DRU-830A DVD/CD Combo; MSI GeForce 8600 GTS; Samsung 245BW; VISTA-Ultimate

  8. #8
    She who must be obeyed Super Moderator piaqt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,702

    Last night, I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I'll never know.
    love, piaqt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •