Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: What do you think of the new PC I bought?

  1. #1
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621

    Arrow What do you think of the new PC I bought?

    It's a Dell Desktop, dual core processer with Hyper Transfer, Free shipping. It was normally $750. It

    was $350 off. It cost me $400. I'm not a gamer. I don't do heavy graphics. I leave the PC on for 12

    hours a day. I don't know how to assemble a PC.

    http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...CA2&s=dhs&fb=1

    From $749
    $399
    Components
    AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+
    Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
    No Monitor
    2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz- 2DIMMs
    320GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™
    16x DVD+/-RW Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE Integrated Graphics GPU
    Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
    Dell USB Keyboard and Dell Optical USB Mouse
    No Floppy Drive Included
    56K PCI Data Fax Modem
    My Accessories
    No speakers
    Microsoft Works 8. DOES NOT INCLUDE MS WORD
    My Service
    1Yr In-Home Service, Parts + Labor, 24x7 Phone Support
    6 Months of America Online Membership Included
    Also Includes
    Mouse included in Dell Wireless Package
    Adobe® Acrobat® Reader 7.0
    Integrated 10/100 Ethernet
    Award Winning Service and Support
    Windows Vista™ Premium

    Thoughts?
    Last edited by veronica; August 2nd, 2007 at 23:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    I think your new PC is real nice ! Hope you enjoy it

  3. #3
    Platinum+ Member bhxtyrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    729
    Thats a very nice system indeed,was just looking over the specs and it sounds like a very solid system.Also cant beat that price either!

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    It should do you just fine lil Lady.

  5. #5
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Thank you all.

    It just occured to me, that I probably should have got a

    company online to assemble a PC for me with name brand

    parts, but it seems real expensive. I would not have got a

    deal. Dell seems fairly solid. They test thier PC's out.

    I hope I didn't make another mistake.

  6. #6
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    For $399 you didn't make a mistake, Dell is good

  7. #7
    My Name is.... TZ Veteran Stripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    live?
    Posts
    875
    Aye, definately a good buy. Sounds like a great system there for you Veronica

  8. #8
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Thank you both.

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Very good choice. The DELL should be working really well for you, how do you like it so far? Plenty of power and quick response?

    Hope you're having fun!

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    @ cash_site, Thanks. I have not got to it yet. I was

    preocupied with other things. I have to set it up next to my

    present PC & move files from 1 PC to the other with a USB

    cable in a 10' by 10' room. I have to install PCMover on both

    PC's. I have 250 bookmarks & email to transfer.

  11. #11
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site View Post
    Very good choice. The DELL should be working really well for you, how do you like it so far? Plenty of power and quick response?

    Hope you're having fun!
    I think it's the Vista

    OS that makes it slow & unresponsive. I think Vista

    consumes all the power. It's as slow as my old XP

    machine. I can't multi-task either. If it had XP on it, it

    would probably be ok. I advise against buying Vista.

    Take care,
    Veronica

  12. #12
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    593
    The hardware specs are good and the name brand is excellent.

    Vista does in fact consume a huge amount of resources, but the machine
    has 2GB RAM, so I doubt that is the reason why it is slow and
    unresponsive.

    You said earlier that you were going to use a USB cable to transfer
    files. Are you reporting that the machine is slow and unresponsive
    with or without being cabled to the second machine? If it is cabled
    are you using a USB 1 or USB 2 cable?

    BTW, if all you have are bookmarks and email to transfer it would be
    easier and less complicated to just burn the data to a CD and copy the
    data into the correct folders.

    You can't muti-task? That would happen if you are cabled to the second
    machine with a USB 1.0 cable. After the transfer is complete the
    machine's resources should return to normal. I am assuming it is
    cabled, but if it is not cabled you might want to give us more
    details.

    Just thoughts.

    MSNwar


    --
    www.10Dollarz.com is our premier download site with more than 700
    quality internet marketing products and we add to it all of the time.
    Avatar by Brudda EggHead

  13. #13
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica View Post
    I think it's the Vista

    OS that makes it slow & unresponsive. I think Vista

    consumes all the power. It's as slow as my old XP

    machine. I can't multi-task either. If it had XP on it, it

    would probably be ok. I advise against buying Vista.

    Take care,
    Veronica
    I think its Norton that's slowing your computer and consuming a lot of memory at idle.

  14. #14
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,366
    Actaully my uncle bought a Vista and he felt it was really slow as well (I did too) but it is because it gives you the screen way before is done loading. My Uncle bought a 2200 VAIO so it was loaded, and still takes about 7 minutes to be completely ready (my XP machine takes 10)
    Anyhow, I uninstalled Norton and replaced it with Avast, turned off Indexing, and removed some useless aplications (Like Office trial) and other stuff that just consumed space and it was better. It is fast after it finishes loading, but slow to respond while still loading.
    My suggestion for trasnfering files is, as long as you knwo what you are transfering just do it over the network. 100MB cat5 trasnfer is better than 480MB UBS2 because of the actual CPU use of the USB transfer. Bookmarks can be easily exported from Internet Explorer and Firefox and imported in the other PC.
    Also, you would not have any problem with the cables since Cat6 supports up to 100 meter (or 328.08399 feet)
    I am a big fan of wired networks, and mainly cat6

  15. #15
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by MSNwar View Post
    Vista does in fact consume a huge amount of resources, but the machine
    has 2GB RAM, so I doubt that is the reason why it is slow and
    unresponsive. [1]

    You said earlier that you were going to use a USB cable to transfer
    files. [2]
    --
    [1] I got a message that I didn't have enough memory to do what I wanted. It was using 666 MB of memory out of @ GB.

    [2] I didn't use a cable to transfer files after all. The cable was $14. I transfered with a CD.

    Thanks for replying.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •