Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Vista and Visual Studios 2005 compatibility

  1. #1
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308

    Question Vista and Visual Studios 2005 compatibility

    Hello everyone Iím looking for a little bit of advice about Vista Ultimate and how it will react with Visual Studios 2005 / 2008. The reason Iím asking this question is because it is almost impossible to find a desktop that comes with windows XP Pro and I know sooner or later I will have to take the plunge. So here are my Questions (so I can make up my mind on what to get and do)

    1. Will Vista Ultimate works with Visual Studios (DirectX, and 3D designs)?

    2. How recourse intensive is Vista Ultimate, I plan on getting 4Gig of DDR2 will that be enough?

    3. Are there any know problems with Vista and development tools? (I have read mix results so say no other say yes, but there are no fact to prove or disprove either clam)

    4. with the new security features of Vista how locked down will my administrative right be (not affected by group policy, default permissions)?

    Here are the system specs of the desktop I plan on buying:
    Memory 4 GIG DDR-2 667MHZ
    Intel Quad processor Q6600 2.4 GHz
    Nivida GeForce 8500GT PCI express 512MB
    320 Gb HDD

    And the rest is pretty standard stuff but these are the key specs. So any advice would be greatly appreciated, I just donít want to make a $2000 dollar plus mistake.

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    I would say that 4gb of ram is enough for just about anything. Also if you are specifically wanting XP, CDW is still selling it on systems. We just bought a bunch of dual-quad core HP xw8400 workstations all with XP Pro.

  3. #3
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    Thanks Rik, you’re a life saver. CDW was able to hook me up with the systems spec I was looking for and at a reasonable price. A thousand thanks

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    Glad to help.

  5. #5
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Linedawg View Post
    Thanks Rik, youíre a life saver. CDW was able to hook me up with the systems spec I was looking for and at a reasonable price. A thousand thanks
    What did you finally get?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  6. #6
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308

  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    That's a "nice" one. Ya shoulda gotten this one tho!

  8. #8
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by rik View Post
    That's a "nice" one. Ya shoulda gotten this one tho!
    LOL... I'd be happy to sell one of your kidney's for that PC Rik

    But, LD, that is a very nice PC you got there, probably top of the crop atm especially since there aren't many apps that take advantage of more than 2 cores, let alone 8+ like Rik's PC.

    Hardware like that doesnt make you play COD_4 better haha...

    i think there is a benchmark thread somewhere, let us know how u go! I think Conan used to have the king last year or so!

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  9. #9
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site View Post
    LOL... I'd be happy to sell one of your kidney's for that PC Rik

    But, LD, that is a very nice PC you got there, probably top of the crop atm especially since there aren't many apps that take advantage of more than 2 cores, let alone 8+ like Rik's PC.

    Hardware like that doesnt make you play COD_4 better haha...

    i think there is a benchmark thread somewhere, let us know how u go! I think Conan used to have the king last year or so!
    Make that 3 years ago!

  10. #10
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan View Post
    Make that 3 years ago!
    True, but it's the quality of the User that makes it perform faster

    A F1 Driver in a no-name care will always be faster than a no-name person in an F1 Car

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •