Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Vista - always shutting down

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    103

    Vista - always shutting down

    I'm running Vista Home premium.

    It's always shutting down, screen goes black and then say Windows didn't shut down normally .... then give 3 options to restart in safe mode or normally etc...

    Any ideas on what's going on ?

  2. #2
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    What do you mean by always shutting down... as in, you're in an endless loop? Or just when you tell it to shutdown, then it gives you black screen and crashes?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    103
    Sorry,
    what it does, just about anytime, even when on the internet, it will just dump,
    goes to a black screen with the msgs. I mentioned and restarts.

  4. #4
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Hmm... have you updated Vista with the latest patches? Also, run through Spyware and Virus scanners (you might be able to go through Safe Mode, and not crash).

    What are your PC specs and model numbers?

    Do you notice anything weird happening right before the Crash? Like screen flickers, or lots of Harddrive noise, or slow computer?

    Also, go to your Advanced My Computer properties, in the Startup and Recovery section, will be a checkbox for 'Automatically restart' on System failure. Un tick that box, and it should give you enough time to read more of the msgs on the screen. Right those down.. might be something like STOP CODE: 0x88764FE

    Let us know.
    Last edited by cash_site; January 23rd, 2008 at 00:37 AM. Reason: spelling

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    103
    Happened while I was reading this....


    Just bounces me to a black DOS like screen, says windows didn't shutdown normally and how would i like to restart, safe mode, safe mode command prompt, or normally. Also has a default counter saying if I don't choose it will restart normally.

    Where/how would I get the latest patches.
    What is a good, free, spyware.

    I ran the Defender, and also got the free Lavasoft

  6. #6
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    You need to use Memtest86+, get the ISO version and burn to CD, boot the CD and test.

    I don't know what HD you have ? get the manufactures HD test utility, make sure your HD is not failing.

    Power Supply could be bad ?

    Did you install any programs or drivers before this started to happen ?

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    103
    I'll look into that, but I'm thinking it's more along the lines of Spyware etc...

  8. #8
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,333
    Quote Originally Posted by cowboy View Post
    I'm thinking it's more along the lines of Spyware etc...
    I don't know of anything that'll do that Its hardware, bad driver/conflict related.

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame View Post
    I don't know of anything that'll do that Its hardware, bad driver/conflict related.
    I agree... (the only thing close to similar behaviour was the old 'Blaster' worm, but that would shutdown XP every 60seconds...)...

    I'd check all the cables inside the PC Case, ensure the HeatSinkFan is properly seated... Motherboard health and temps.

    Please post your computer specifications.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    103
    Here are the specs

    Vista Home Premium

    Intel (R) cpu 2160 @ 1.80 GHz
    Ram 2021 MB
    32 Bit OS

  11. #11
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    What is your model of motherboard? Are any other devices installed such as PCI or Video cards? Or do you use OnBoard hardware?

    So, 2 weeks from our last post, you are still getting the continuous shutdowns??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  12. #12
    Junior Member Gary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio
    Posts
    16
    If you are still having problems post what is in your event viewer, error logs..etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •