Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3)

  1. #1
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045

    Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3)

    Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) includes all previously released updates for the operating system. This update also includes a small number of new functionalities, which do not significantly change customers’ experience with the operating system.

    Release Notes

    Network Install

    Checked Build (debug or develop software)

    ISO-9660 CD Image File

    Via Windows Update

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  2. #2
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    I've installed it last night and didnt notice any significant performance decrease/increase



  3. #3
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,366
    I installed it last night as well. No change execpt for 300MB less of HDD space

  4. #4
    Platinum+ Member bhxtyrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    729
    I saw it but choose to wait to be on the safe side in case of bugs,Working alot lately so cant risk my system getting screwed by MS's stupidity like so many others in the past.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    69
    You could probably save some space if you go into your windows dir and delete all folders that begin with a $, and all files within folders WINDOWS\Installer & WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\Download. Windows way of just hogging space.

  6. #6
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    I installed it on a test box and so far no problems.

  7. #7
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    No problems here.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  8. #8
    Bronze Member Amanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by efc View Post
    No problems here.
    Nor here

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1
    guys what cpu youre using? i have read that after installing SP3 in an AMD machine it just keep on rebooting.

    hope somebody care to share, thank you.

  10. #10
    Junior Member ggand4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    4
    i installed it the day it came out & NP until now

    mine is intel though... not AMD )
    Last edited by rik; May 14th, 2008 at 16:55 PM.

  11. #11
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,366
    Quote Originally Posted by thraxed View Post
    You could probably save some space if you go into your windows dir and delete all folders that begin with a $, and all files within folders WINDOWS\Installer & WINDOWS\SoftwareDistribution\Download. Windows way of just hogging space.
    True and not so true.
    the $ folders (hidden intallation and backup folders) are used to keep a copy of replaced files during install. If you delete the folders, you can claim back space, you lose the ability to unistall the update. In some cases it can even create headaches later on. I had been forced to clean those folders because of bad partitioning, and I had to workaround when something goes wrong and those folders are not there. Usually I prefer to leave them there. All the updates are only taking 900MB on unistall files.
    considering I have 25GB on ISO files (I save the updates CDs from MS) it is more worth it to clean from there.

  12. #12
    Bronze Member Amanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North East UK
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by bernalliscafe View Post
    guys what cpu youre using? i have read that after installing SP3 in an AMD machine it just keep on rebooting.

    hope somebody care to share, thank you.
    My machine is an AMD machine and as I said a few days back we've not had any problems.

  13. #13
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,366
    the problem with AMD only affects usually OEM image builts using intel as a base on a AMD PC. When the machine boots, it boots a dll specific for Intel and that makes it crash. If your installation of Windows Xp is clean, you will not have that problem
    more at MS update blog

  14. #14
    Silver Member Linedawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    308
    I have a problem that just came up with XP SP3,
    The Sysprep application will no longer work, when I try to sysprep a base line build I get an error saying that windows cannot find a valid version of the sysprep. I have tried it from several diffrnet locations to include three different windows XP Pro cd’s and I downloaded one form Microsoft with no luck.

    Is there a Sysprep I can download that will work with SP3?

  15. #15
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Have you tried the SP3 deployment tools?

    Here: Windows XP Service Pack 3 Deployment Tools

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •