Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: slipstreamed XP SP1 question

  1. #1
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430

    Question slipstreamed XP SP1 question

    i have slipstreamed the SP1 into the setup disk for XP.

    i let a mate of mine borrow the newly burnt disk to see if it works,he says it didn't work for what-ever reason.

    is there a way i can try it on my m/c?(i only have the one)

    i have a 60G h/d,split into 4@15G.

    i don't want to reinstall everything again.

    cheers.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Boot from CD.Run setup and choose one of the other partitions to install it on.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    that's what i was thinking,BUT,

    will i be able to uninstall it when i'm done,

    without any thing being done to my original O/S?

    cheers.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Yep.
    Open a command prompt and type in format x: (replace x with the drive letter) and press enter.
    You will get a few warning messages,just type Y each time and press enter.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    there-in lies the problem.

    each one of my partitions has loads of stuff on them,though there is enough room to install the 2nd O/S on them.

    possible solution?
    if i copy all the folders and every-thing from say F drive to another drive,then reformat Fdrive,will i be able to uninstall the new O/S on F drive and replace the folders as if nothing had happened.

    cheers so far for the replies Rev.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  6. #6
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Yeah you could do it that way Harry.Or if you have got enough space on one of your 15gig partitions,create a new partition on that,and install XP SP1 there.
    e.g, split the 15 gigs into 1x10 & 1x5.
    Either way it will uninstall without loss of other data.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    make sure your partition is around 3 gigs

    i've seen a fresh winxp take 2 gigs easily so make room the the os
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    thanks guys.

    i'll give it a go,
    i'll let you know how i got on.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  9. #9
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    right then.

    i tried it,
    for some reason it wouldn't copy over a couple of .nfo files.
    so i carried on without them.

    then it couldn't find a file called something like"I8369"(don't quote me),
    so i carried on.
    just to see what would happen.

    needless to say,it wouldn't run properly.

    question.

    how the hell do i uninstall it now?
    i've looked all over for an option,
    found nowt!

    cheers.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  10. #10
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    i take it then your disc is bad

    is it looking for the i386 folder?

    hmmm

    you could just delet the partition but you also have to modify the boot.ini to tell windows you only have one installation
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  11. #11
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    cheers egghead.

    my original XP disk is sound.
    i tried slipstreaming SP1 on to a new disk and wanted to see if it worked.
    it did'nt.

    if i just delete all the folders and files plus any hidden ones from the partition i installed it on,will that do it?

    also where is the boot.ini file,and how do i modify it?

    cheers.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  12. #12
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Originally posted by harrytb


    if i just delete all the folders and files plus any hidden ones from the partition i installed it on,will that do it?

    also where is the boot.ini file,and how do i modify it?

    cheers.
    yes delete everything

    goto control panel
    system
    advanced
    startup and recovery
    settings

    choose your os from the dropdown

    uncheck time to display list of os


    becarefull

    you must choose the right one

    if you choose the wrong one winxp wont boot

    make a backup of your boot.ini file before changing
    its in the root directory
    c:\boot.ini


    cheers
    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •