Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: my laptop ethernet port is not working

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    my laptop ethernet port is not working

    In device manager it shows it is working and the driver is there however when I plug in the ethernet cable it shows packets being sent but nothing being recieved!! Not sure how to rectify this at all. I have tried several times at different places all to no avail. It shows me connected but can not receive anything. Please help and thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    is your firewall disabled. and is the NIC card enabled?



  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    firewall is off not

    not sure what the nic card is
    but thanks

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    its the network card.(ethernet port) to disable the firewall go to start run and type firewall.cpl then click ok. then disable and try it.



  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    tried

    tried to no avail

  6. #6
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    double click the network icon in the taskbar then go to properties>>>click on the TCP/IP then properties. see if you have it set to automatically assign IP same with the DNS server. Are you running your internet thru a router if so try to plug the pc directly into the modem then reboot the pc.



  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    i have it set allready

    all ready set it but when I click on status on the connection icon it shows manually configured yet it is clicked on set automatically???

  8. #8
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    is this a home PC or is it in an office environment. reason I'm asking could be a Group Policy . are you going thru a router? If not...I'd go into device manager and remove the network driver download a recent one and reboot and install the new driver.



  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    clicked on it

    changed it to auto but still no packets being recieved
    frustrating isn't it?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    I do

    I really appreciate the help!

  11. #11
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead View Post
    is this a home PC or is it in an office environment. reason I'm asking could be a Group Policy . are you going thru a router? If not...I'd go into device manager and remove the network driver download a recent one and reboot and install the new driver.
    can you answer those questions. please



  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7
    have to go offline but will be back on in a few hours
    c

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •