Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: slow loading web pages.help needed.

  1. #1
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430

    slow loading web pages.help needed.


    im running vista ultimate on my 1.7Ghz laptop with I.E 7.
    my problem is,
    most web pages load real slow.
    my connection is fine,as you can see.

    its just web pages,sometimes they even time-out.
    ive exited my antivirus to see if that helps,no good.
    ive even emptied cookies and all that,no goood.
    any one any ideas how to cure this please.

    cheers guys.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,229

  3. #3
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,622
    have you tried a different browser. or disable the IE add-ons.



  4. #4
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    @ conan,
    ive tried a couple of different DNS addresses,with no success.

    @ phishhead,
    i havnt tried other browser as ive always used I.E without any problems.
    as for add-ons,i only have 3 running,2 are for I.E spell check and 1 for adobe.

    neither option has cured my problem.
    is there any thing else i could try?

    thanks guys for your replies.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  5. #5
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Have you checked the service status at Virgin Media. Although you say your connection speed is fine there could still be network issues causing the problem.

    Select your location from the drop down menu: Service status

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  6. #6
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    You have a good incentive to try Firefox 3. You don't have to give up IE to do it. Just download and install Firefox 3 and you will be ready to try it.

    I think you will like the result.

    One of the strong benefits of Firefox is the large number of add-ons (called extensions) that are available for you to personalize the operation and look of the software. If you don't find a functionality that you are currently using, it is likely that it can be found among the extensions.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  7. #7
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    @ reverend,
    i entered my location,no issues what-so-ever.

    @ efc,
    i have used firefox ages ago and didnt particularly like it,
    the issue is not with IE as such.
    ive used IE for as long as i can remember without issues,only over the last 2 to 3 weeks has there been issues.
    so,firefox is not an option for me.

    once again,
    thanks guys.

    if the worst comes to the worst,ill re-format,
    not a big problem re-formatting,i usually do it every few months anyway.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Bowmaninlancs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Small village near Preston, Lancs, UK
    Posts
    12
    Harry, I've had similar problems with my wife's Vista laptop. After doing everything I could think of, I changed to Firefox and saw a great improvement. But I feel the main problems are rooted in Vista itself. I'm sorry I ever bought the laptop with Vista on it! I've had many happy years on XP on a number of machines!
    Hope you sort it out - Bowman

  9. #9
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    just a quick update......

    i installed FF and saw no difference in loading.
    i even added the yslow add-on,
    that didnt seem to report any issues with any sites.
    as a last resort i did a reformat.
    still have issues but only on one or two sites now (other people on the same sites say they too have slow loading issues.

    as you say bowman,it may well be Vista.
    i was tempted to put XP sp3 on but really like vista.

    again,thanks for all your replies.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    135
    what are the two sites? Perhaps they are image heavy. My Vista64 laptop (dual core 2 duo, 4 gb 667 ram) is so much faster than my xp desktop - in every function.
    lynchknot's altered ego

  11. #11
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    the sites are not image heavy.
    ive spoken to a couple admins and they say the site is slow sometimes but not to the degree that i experiance.

    sometime in the next day or two im putting XP sp3 on here,just for the sake of seeing if its any better.

    illl post my results later.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •