Thread: What size power supply (PSU)?

Post What size power supply (PSU)?

Hi all
    I've been building systems for a few years now, and have heard conflicting stories about the size of power supply to use. I am looking to build a flight sim computer for a friend, and was going to use a ThermalTake 450W power supply. There are 2 possible scenarios that my friend is looking at:
    1) AMD Phenom 9950 Black Edition 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ Quad-Core Processor
    Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe / WiFi AMD Socket AM2 / AM2+ Motherboard
    DDR2 1066 4GB (2x 2GB) RAM
    ATi HD4870 512MB DDR5 PCI-E Video Card
    VelociRaptor 74GB SATA 10000RPM 16MB Cache Hard Drive x 2
    Lite-On 20X Dual-Layer DVD-RW Optical SATA Drive
    ThermalTake 450W PSU

OR

2)
    AMD Phenom 9950 Black Edition 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ Quad-Core Processor
    Asus M3A78-EM AMD Socket AM2 / AM2+ Motherboard
    DDR2 1066 4GB (2x 2GB) RAM
    ATi HD4870 512MB DDR5 PCI-E Video Card
    Raid Edition 160GB SATA II 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Drive x 2
    Lite-On 20X Dual-Layer DVD-RW Optical SATA Drive
    ThermalTake 450W PSU

The main difference between the 2 systems being the class of hard drive (the RAID editions are not being in RAID configuration and are 7200rpm) and the motherboard (ATX in system 1, mATX in 2). Further, he will be running possibly 2 x LCD screens of at least 19" wide, possibly 22" wide. Also, CH Products Yoke & Pedals (USB), USB headset, possibly USB webcam and normal speakers.

I haven't found a way to easily calculate the possible total load, and this would be my first Quad Core system build. The Phenom listed is 140W, I know that much. The discussions I have seen reckon that 450W is fine for most mid-range gaming systems (which this would be classified as). A friend of mine thinks that with the extra screen, the Quad Core and the ATi 4870, I'm going to need either a 550W or 600W.

Any thoughts, comments or suggestions?

Cheers