Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Vista and Microsoft

  1. #1
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168

    Vista and Microsoft

    Had an interesting issue with an XP/Vista Dual boot. After using Vista mostly since it came out I decided to visit XP...lmao...that's all it was, just a visit..damn thing would not work..anyhoo, I decided to download Vista SP1 because Far Cry 2 required it...(nightmare begins). After the download I went to install it...guess what?...lol..no go. Tried it three different times. So i go to Microsofts website and got involved with a live chat with one of their techs...guess where...lol...anyhow, he wants to troubleshoot the system on his end...i agree..we log into their remote access thingy and I sit here watching him move about...goes first to cmd...does a SFC /scannow and comes back with some sort of corruption...i didn't see it so it must be something they can access on there end....says an error code came up...now he wants to reinstall...dirty install...no repair option that I can find in Vista...he is moving about as he tells me that sound and video needs to be turned off before he starts...well...lmao..i watch him go into device manager and as his pointer moves toward disable I didn't have time enough to tell him...whoa dude...lol....screen goes black....end of session.. duh...bottom line is I just formatted the drive and wiped everything and went back to XP. Someone calls me the next day to follow up and I burned his ears a bit and told him Vista went to the trash can...he offered to give me my money back but I said no...perhaps you would consider swapping my Utimate for a version that has the service pack already in the cd....lol again. Last time I heard from them.....
    Last edited by PIPER; October 27th, 2008 at 08:42 AM.

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,638
    tsk tsk... shame on you Piper. You knew better.

  3. #3
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Quote Originally Posted by rik View Post
    tsk tsk... shame on you Piper. You knew better.
    ....

  4. #4
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Piper, did you build your PC yourself?

    Thanks in advance.

  5. #5
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Wow, that must have been a eery feeling, have their hands all over your equipment, touching places no-one has seen in public before!

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  6. #6
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica View Post
    Piper, did you build your PC yourself?

    Thanks in advance.
    Every time I need a new one with the exception of one that I bought(a few years ago).

  7. #7
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site View Post
    Wow, that must have been a eery feeling, have their hands all over your equipment, touching places no-one has seen in public before!
    yes it was, but he didn't get to see much for long (BLACK SCREEN)....lmao...had he been going places he didn't belong there was an end session button on my end.

  8. #8
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Quote Originally Posted by PIPER View Post
    yes it was, but he didn't get to see much for long (BLACK SCREEN)....lmao...had he been going places he didn't belong there was an end session button on my end.
    Good to hear! You've got to love the 3-finger salute! I guess you're lucky to not have a Jemma Wallpaper or something racy...haha!

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  9. #9
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,293
    Quote Originally Posted by PIPER View Post
    yes it was, but he didn't get to see much for long (BLACK SCREEN)....lmao...had he been going places he didn't belong there was an end session button on my end.
    I just read this item this morning. It might be one explaination for a black screen. http://tech.yahoo.com/news/ap/200810...ft_blacked_out
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  10. #10
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,168
    I have a legit copy of XP...got it from Microsoft actually...this black screen came from the butt head on the other end..
    Last edited by PIPER; October 30th, 2008 at 09:52 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •